AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
scott
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-15-2008
Message 1 of 60 (12,254 Views)
Accepted Solution

Civil 3D for Mac

12254 Views, 59 Replies
02-25-2011 07:11 PM

Will one be created?  Thoughts?

While we can't/won't talk about what we are doing, we sometimes talk about what we're not doing. Case and point: Civil 3D running on the Mac version of AutoCAD is not in our current product plans. We have Autodesk employees that run Civil 3D on the Mac, but they are running it in either a virtual machine or have their Mac running Windows 7x64.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.

 

I think you hit an important point. Superior components. One of the difficulties of building a PC is having all the components match well. With a Mac the only components that go in to it are components made for the Mac.

About 4 years ago I bought a Sager Laptop [portable workstation] with XP pro 32 bit on it an 4 GB RAM I've been running C3D 2009 on it with almost no problems. It also has an aluminum case. It's set up for Nvidia dual SLI cards but I haven't invested in a second one yet.

It's run better than any other computer I've ever had and I'm convinced that it's because of the way it was built. It uses the best components that are matched to run well with each other.

Hopefully I'll upgrade it to Win 7 64 bit soon and add some RAM. Then I'll put 2011 or 2012 on it.

So if computers are built well they run well. It's just a lot more difficult to find PCs that are built so carefully.

Allen

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,868
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 60 (12,239 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

02-25-2011 11:05 PM in reply to: scott

If there is enough demand for one, I would guess that there will be one.

 

Again, the mantra holds true here, "Those that know won't say. Those that say, don't know."

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 3 of 60 (12,212 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

02-26-2011 09:41 AM in reply to: scott

Considering the level of effort involved, I kind of hope there won't be one.  I'd rather see that effort devoted to fixing the issues with the software we already have.

 

I'd also be surprised if there's much of a demand.  People in our industry tend to be very cost-concious, and to get a computer of equivalent power, you have to pay quite a bit more for a Mac.  So I suspect most people in our industry would not be interested in significantly higher costs, just to run software that should work just as well (if not better) on a PC.  Especially since people in our industry generally don't have any Macs, and most would have to buy all new hardware, as well as retrain staff in how to use a different OS...

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,989
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 60 (12,161 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

02-28-2011 01:51 AM in reply to: scott

I tend to agree with Sinc on this one

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 5 of 60 (12,146 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

02-28-2011 05:38 AM in reply to: scott

While we can't/won't talk about what we are doing, we sometimes talk about what we're not doing. Case and point: Civil 3D running on the Mac version of AutoCAD is not in our current product plans. We have Autodesk employees that run Civil 3D on the Mac, but they are running it in either a virtual machine or have their Mac running Windows 7x64.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.

 



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
Aldanmark01
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2011
Message 6 of 60 (11,910 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 04:48 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk
Don't know if you will read this but I'd buy 8 versions tomorrow if you had them. The comments about cost just don't stack up when you are comparing a $3000-$4000 machine and a $10000 piece of software. We run a 30 machine net work with both macs and pcs and the pcs give me 5 times the grief, hugely outweighing the cost of the machine. Get with the times here. At the current rate what apple have done in 5 years will put them miles ahead of the rest in the next 10 years if they aren't there already.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 60 (11,906 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 04:52 AM in reply to: Aldanmark01

Get out you checkbook! http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/index?id=15421056&siteID=123112

 

I posted too quickly. I don't see any links for Civil 3D. Only AutoCAD. I don't know if a Mac version is planned for 2012.

 

Allen

Member
Aldanmark01
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2011
Message 8 of 60 (11,900 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 05:05 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
Unfortunately I need civil 3D. As soon as you know when it's available let me know.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 9 of 60 (11,898 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 05:07 AM in reply to: Aldanmark01

C3D 2012 should be out in a couple of weeks. But I haven't seen anything about a Mac version.

 

Allen

Member
Aldanmark01
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2011
Message 10 of 60 (11,894 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

04-05-2011 05:15 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
Got pc versions of 2011. If there's any one from autocad interested I'm happy to be one of your first mac customers for civil 3D 2012 or 2013.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.