AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
108 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 1 of 6

Civil 3D deletes feature lines in grading

325 Views, 5 Replies
02-21-2014 02:20 PM

Hi,

 

Never had it before but my Civil 3D started to delete feature lines from grading.

I noitesed it when I had problems with exporting file to AutoCAD.

After few tries I saved my drawing and opened it again.

In model I still have correct surface made of feature lines from grading but without actual feature lines!

 

I wouldn't post if it was only once, but it happened two times already within a week.

 

ps. recover, audit have been applied

 

Thanks

Valued Mentor
356 Posts
43 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Post 2 of 6

Re: Civil 3D deletes feature lines in grading

02-24-2014 09:14 AM in reply to: Vasily_BC

Vasily_BC wrote:

Hi,

 

Never had it before but my Civil 3D started to delete feature lines from grading.

I noitesed it when I had problems with exporting file to AutoCAD.

After few tries I saved my drawing and opened it again.

In model I still have correct surface made of feature lines from grading but without actual feature lines!

 

I wouldn't post if it was only once, but it happened two times already within a week.

 

ps. recover, audit have been applied

 

Thanks




 

If I understand correctly, this is because of one of two things.

 

Option A - You are exporting your drawing to regular AutoCAD from Civil 3D, and then wondering why feature lines are no longer in drawing within regular AutoCAD?

 

AutoCAD cannot read feature lines as it is a C3D object, and when the dwg is exported to autocad, it can only read the surface itself, not the C3D objects that defined it.

 

OR

 

Option B - If you are simply saving and re-opening in C3D, when you 'Export to AutoCAD' and then re-open said file in C3D, like described above, all your C3D objects are gone, as it was removed when you saved it to a plain AutoCAD version. 

 

Check your save settings, and save one version to AutoCAD and the other version as the current C3D format, and work in that drawing.

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
Product Support
50 Posts
10 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-12-2013
Post 3 of 6

Re: Civil 3D deletes feature lines in grading

02-24-2014 04:40 PM in reply to: Vasily_BC

The error as explained, if I understand it correctly is that at some point, the FeatureLines that were used to create the surface have disappeared from the drawing, but the surface that was created from these lines still remains in the drawing.

 

If this is the case, we have seen this pop up a few times in the recent past. We have created a "bug" with our development team, but for them to be able to dig into this issue, they need a good copy of the drawing before the FL's disappear.

 

Do you have an archived version [.bak or even autosave] of this drawing that still has the FL's that you could upload to us?



Willy Campbell
Distinguished Contributor
108 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 4 of 6

Re: Civil 3D deletes feature lines in grading

02-24-2014 05:04 PM in reply to: owenmull
It's not A nor B. My point was that I had Civil 3D file with graded surface made of feature lines. After few attemps to export it as AutoCAD and reopening exact the same Civil 3D file, I found that there is no feature lines but surface made of that feature lines.
Unfortunately, I'm out of my office and can't upload file in a day or two.

Cheers
Distinguished Contributor
108 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 5 of 6

Re: Civil 3D deletes feature lines in grading

02-24-2014 05:06 PM in reply to: Willy_Campbell
Hi Willy,

I'll upload file in a day or two when I'll be in my office.
Where exactly do you want me to upload it?
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-08-2014
Post 6 of 6

Re: Civil 3D deletes feature lines in grading

01-09-2015 03:17 PM in reply to: Vasily_BC

Has this issue been resolved? I have the exact same issue. I watch my screen as the audit commads deletes all my feature lines, and then when completed, says nothing has been erased! These feature lines make up my finished surface, which in turn, all my profiles utilize and all my labels are connected to the finished surface!

 

andy

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!