AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
crmb1899
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Message 1 of 6 (345 Views)

Civil 3d Crash in Startup

345 Views, 5 Replies
02-14-2013 09:18 PM

Hi Please Help. C3D is Crashing too much. I have already unninstallled and installed about 5 times in 2 days.

I am running Windows 8 Pro. I have my Building Design Suite and Infraestructure Suite and Civil 3D is the only one with this problem. Please someone tell me how fix this problem

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 6 (320 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Crash in Startup

02-15-2013 01:17 AM in reply to: crmb1899

Civil 3D is not Win 8 compatible - at least not yet, although it'll be a safe bet that C3D 2014 will be compatible but who knows about previous versions

 

In the meantime, install Windows 7....:smileywink:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,638
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (311 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Crash in Startup

02-15-2013 05:44 AM in reply to: crmb1899

crmb1899 wrote:

Hi Please Help.

C3D is Crashing too much. 

I am running Windows 8 Pro.


There is the problem, most likely.

System Requirements

Active Member
crmb1899
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Message 4 of 6 (308 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Crash in Startup

02-15-2013 05:57 AM in reply to: rkmcswain
I know some programs are not compatible like Revit but Civil 3D is the only one with the problem and i have like Revit 2013 and others that are not compatible with Windows 8 and afe running well. How this happen? C. Morales
Product Support
Matt_Haokip
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Message 5 of 6 (280 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Crash in Startup

02-18-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: crmb1899

Hi Morales

 

I understand you are experiencing issues with Civil 3D and the new Windows 8 operating system. Unfortunately at this time Civil 3D is not supported in the Windows 8 environment. Please check back to this technical solution for an updated list of the Autodesk products that are supported on Windows 8: http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS19048377 

That being said, I do have some suggestions to offer which may improve your performance a bit. Turn off the following if they are currently on:

  • Properties Palette
  • Tool Tips
  • Quick Properties

Again this environment is unsupported, but these may help a bit for the time being.

If you are experiencing crashes with Windows 8, we would highly encourage you to submit any CER reports that appear as these will provide our Development Team with data necessary to support Windows 8 in the future as well as find any other issues that may need to be addressed. For more information about CER reports and what they do, please follow this link: http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2012/08/reminder-the-importance-of-customer-error-reports-ce...

 

Thanks,

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



Matt Haokip
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,638
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 6 (261 Views)

Re: Civil 3d Crash in Startup

02-19-2013 10:27 AM in reply to: crmb1899

crmb1899 wrote:
I know some programs are not compatible like Revit but Civil 3D is the only one with the problem and i have like Revit 2013 and others that are not compatible with Windows 8 and afe running well. How this happen? C. Morales

Look at it like this......

You can install it and try it, but unless the O/S is supported, you're on your own.

 

IOW - Autodesk has not tested it (or they have an know it won't work) and they are not going to provide support for it. If it works, then great, if not, then use a supported O/S.

 

With the ongoing new releases every 12 months, it's unlikely that any existing version will ever be retrofitted to work with a new O/S.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.