AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
aslove
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 1 of 28 (4,496 Views)

Civil 3D 2012 text

4496 Views, 27 Replies
05-06-2011 06:11 AM

Anyone having problem with text text when editing.  It seems to hold it position after you edit and try to rotate or move the text?

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,936
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 28 (4,492 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

05-06-2011 06:16 AM in reply to: aslove

Yes:

 

Here are a couple of options.

1.  Convert to MTEXT

2.  Run Audit with "Y" (sinc came up with this one.)

 

Bill

 

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 780
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 3 of 28 (4,481 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

05-06-2011 06:57 AM in reply to: aslove

Here is another one. Run AUDIT (you may not see any errors) and then keep using ED command for editing of text.



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Member
mtecacad
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 4 of 28 (4,421 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

05-09-2011 03:38 PM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Is this a bug that may be fixed soon, is causing major problems. very unproductive.

Active Member
stupidnguyen
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
Message 5 of 28 (4,345 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

05-24-2011 05:35 PM in reply to: mtecacad

I think like you!

Member
BYNUMFANYO8656
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Message 6 of 28 (4,308 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

05-25-2011 09:51 AM in reply to: stupidnguyen

We are having this same problem. But have noticed MTEXT does not behave like this. Hopefully there will be a patch soon for this. I am getting tired of running the AUDIT command 100 tmes a day!

Active Member
aslove
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 7 of 28 (4,305 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

05-25-2011 09:54 AM in reply to: aslove

Thanks,

 

I am getting sick of running Audit.  Hopefully there will be a patch out soon.

Contributor
gary.lovegrove
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 8 of 28 (4,281 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

05-25-2011 01:22 PM in reply to: aslove

Try setting the DTEXTED sys variable to 1

 

Gary

Active Member
mbm98
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-05-2009
Message 9 of 28 (3,916 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

07-08-2011 08:53 AM in reply to: aslove

The city engineering team that I work for is also having the same text problem. As suggested, we tried the dtexted = 1 command and it gave us a dialog box for text entry. Unfortunately it would not retain the changes. 

 

When we open the properties window and try to change the text we get a dialog box with the following message: "Object was open for read".

 

The only work around  to break out of the open for read mode appears to be Audit. 

 

This is getting extremely frustrating and  really slows productivity. Please Autodesk give us a hot fix!

 

Thanks!

Contributor
mbennum
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 10 of 28 (3,807 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 text

07-15-2011 02:01 PM in reply to: aslove

I'm having the same problem, and can reproduce it on two separate computers (one workstation, one laptop).

 

It appears if you copy a piece of DTEXT, then text edit the original piece of text, it will get "stuck". You can't edit it again, and if you MOVE or ROTATE it dissappears until a regen. Audit, or close/reopen fixes it temporarily.

 

I guess switching to Mtext will fix it, but I don't like Mtext for everything. 

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.