AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 827
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 1 of 4 (1,310 Views)

Civil 3D 2012 in Windows 8 not stable

1310 Views, 3 Replies
12-17-2012 02:23 PM

just tested.

 

no good. don't do it.

 

just a friendly warning. stick with 2013+win8

 

or

 

2012 + win7.

 

crashes all the time editing alignment/profile. (better). and corridors. (very bad).

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,515
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 4 (1,309 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 in Windows 8 not stable

12-17-2012 02:26 PM in reply to: wang890

Since we are on the topic.....

 

I've seen a lot of posts on Win8 + Civil 3D

 

Why are people trying this combo?

What is so attractive about Win8?

What does Win8 give you that Win7 doesn't?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,757
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 4 (1,288 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 in Windows 8 not stable

12-17-2012 04:28 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

I think some of the posts aren't necessarily people trying this combo, when you buy a new computer you don't always have the choice of operating system.  The correct answer is simply not to buy that computer if that's the case, or demand that Win 7 be installed.  Not everybody is aware of this though and not everyone is aware that Civil 3D may not run properly.  Some people just assume it will.  You and I know this, but not everyone does.

 

I think that answers the why for many people; I have no idea about the rest.  I suppose some users will like the interface better.  I really have no idea about Win 8 other than the interface is different.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Valued Contributor
mbcastle
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 4 of 4 (1,252 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2012 in Windows 8 not stable

12-18-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: mathewk

Yeah, I agree that you should be able to get a new computer with Win 7 instead of Win 8. That's what I would do if I was buying a new machine. You can always upgrade to Win 8 after Civil 3D is supported.

 

Here's my deal. I'm running Civil 3D occassionally at home on a 5+ year-old machine that originally came with Win XP. It's a Core 2 Duo 6400 with 2 GB RAM. Things we're getting to the point where it was taking several minutes for XP to completely boot up, so it was time to re-format the hard drive and do a clean install of everything. Instead of putting XP back on I upgraded to Win 8 for $40, which runs fantastically on that machine - much better than XP ever did. Takes no time at all to boot up, and performance is great. I'd never revert back to XP so I'm sticking with Win 8/Civil 3D 2013. For the most part C3D 2013 runs fine, although I've had some crashes, but I'm not even sure if the crashes are due to Win 8 or C3D as plenty of folks have been crashing with Win 7 too. I am looking forward to Civil 3D being officially supported on Win 8 and hope it happens before C3D 2014. :smileywink:

Mark Castle
Civil 3D 2014, SP1
Win 8.1 64-Bit, 8 GB RAM
Core 2 Duo 6400, Quadro FX 580
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.