AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
mikepo
Posts: 239
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 1 of 6 (1,239 Views)

Civil 3D 2011 Hec-Ras import

1239 Views, 5 Replies
12-15-2010 04:59 PM

I can not get Civil 3D 2011 to import Hec-Ras 3.1 data. I have read plenty of discussion about this issue, but no clear cut solution.

It imports a polyline of the alignment, but doesn't create the profile.

If the SDF file needs edited, can someone explain exactly what needs edited?

Attached is sample file.

Mike Porter
www.ppeng.com
Civil3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional - 64-bit
HP Z230
Xeon 3.20Ghz
24GB of RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
Member
pauldurrell
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
Message 2 of 6 (572 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2011 Hec-Ras import

02-21-2013 05:28 PM in reply to: mikepo

I've got the same problem did you end up solving the issue?

 

Valued Contributor
Maine-iac
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎10-15-2009
Message 3 of 6 (550 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2011 Hec-Ras import

02-22-2013 09:39 AM in reply to: pauldurrell

I do not do any HEC RAS but our office might get in to it in the future. Since we are using C3D 2011 and you have not got any replies I wanted to see if I could go through the motions with the text file attached by Mike P. which states it is HEC-RAS version 3.1.3

 

Steps: I changed the extension of his txt file to an SDF extension. I went through the motions of importing a HEC-RAS file (to an empty drawing since he didn’t attach his drawing with original surface) as the help menu instructed. It does bring in the alignment and graphically shows the 19 cross-section lines. The first cross-section being at station 1+34.28. Once this is in the drawing, I pick on the alignment and right click and choose “Create Profile from Surface”. In this dialogue, if you have the original surface, highlight it in the Select Surface Area, and click on the “ADD>>” button. This adds that surface to the “profile list” area, along with the PF1 profile that is at the end of the SDF(txt) file. Then click “Draw in profile view”, Which jumps you into the “Create Profile View – General” dialogue box, hopefully all the various settings are set, then go right to “Create Profile View” at the bottom, and pick a clear area below or above the alignment and section lines. This creates the profile view. There was a small section of vertical profile from station 1 to 19. Apparently C3D is mis-interpreting these arbitrary HEC-RAS station values as actual alignment stationing. I started near the bottom of the SDR(txt) file and replaced “STATION:1” with “STATION:00134.28”, moved up to “STATION:2” and replaced it with “STATION:00678.51”, and so on. It is important to note that there is 8 character place holder spaces where the station value goes. Make sure you only have 8 characters after “STATION:” before it tabs down to the next line. Otherwise it may only use part of your station value. After putting the 19 actual alignment station values where the cross-sections intersected the alignment into the SDR file, deleting the original “RASimport” site from the prospector, I was able to re-import the HEC-RAS file and recreate the profile view with the true water elevation. Below is a portion of the txt file that needed editing. Not sure if newer versions 4.x.x mentioned in other posts would be edited similiarly.

 

(original)

CROSS-SECTION:

    STREAM ID: Packwood Creek

      REACH ID: Packwood Creek

      STATION:1        <8 place holder spaces here

    NODE NAME:                   

CUT LINE:       6441202.3832718 , 1983889.1542247

      6441202.3832718 , 1984183.1924536

      6441200.091255 , 1984243.1486597

      6441200.091255 , 1986669.4530802

    REACH LENGTHS:500.00,533.59,500.00

    BANK POSITIONS:0.10631,0.12796

    WATER ELEVATION:279.122

    WATER SURFACE EXTENTS:       6441202.38,   1983894.02,   6441200.09,   1986544.06

    SURFACE LINE:      6441202.38,   1983889.15,   279.58      6441202.38,   1983890.17,   279.65

 

(edited)

CROSS-SECTION:

    STREAM ID: Packwood Creek

      REACH ID: Packwood Creek

     STATION:00134.28          <edited to 8 character actual alignment stationing

    NODE NAME:

          CUT LINE:       6441202.3832718 , 1983889.1542247       6441202.3832718 , 1984183.1924536      

Civil 3D 2011
Windows 7 Prof. x64
HP Z400 Workstation
Intel(R) Xenon(R) CPU
W3550 @ 3.07GHz
6.00 GB RAM
Mentor
mikepo
Posts: 239
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 4 of 6 (542 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2011 Hec-Ras import

02-22-2013 12:38 PM in reply to: pauldurrell

We've since migrated to C3D 2013 and have had better sucess integrating with Hec-Ras.

One thing we did find out is that your alignment cannot extend beyond the surface you're using.

I can't remember for sure, but this is probably what my issue was before.

Mike Porter
www.ppeng.com
Civil3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional - 64-bit
HP Z230
Xeon 3.20Ghz
24GB of RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
Valued Mentor
Hidden_Brain
Posts: 678
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 5 of 6 (510 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2011 Hec-Ras import

02-25-2013 03:04 PM in reply to: mikepo

if your alignment goes beyond your surface, you will have problems creating the .geo file for HEC-RAS import, i have seen that happen.

 

see this other thread about the possibility of using the CREATE PROFILE FROM FILE option, rather than importing SDF.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Importing-sdf-from-Hec-RAS/m-p/3788241#M196570

 

 

Avishek Chhibber, P.E., CFM
Civil 3D 2013 SP2, Win 7-64 bit
8GB RAM
Member
pauldurrell
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
Message 6 of 6 (483 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2011 Hec-Ras import

02-27-2013 09:18 PM in reply to: Maine-iac
Thanks for the help, I'll give it a go and let you know ! Regards Paul Durrell MIEAust Environmental Engineer Klohn Crippen Berger Level 5 - 43 Peel St., South Brisbane QLD 4101 AUSTRALIA Postal address: PO Box 3276, South Brisbane QLD 4101 AUSTRALIA D +61.7.3004.0278| T +.61.7.3004.0244 | F +61.7.3004.0299 | PDurrell@klohn.com | www.klohn.com____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ If you have received this email in error, please delete the original message.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.