AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
Unchained8
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 1 of 5 (675 Views)

Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

675 Views, 4 Replies
01-26-2012 01:36 PM

I am new to creating surfaces in c3d with Google Earth (GE). My coordinates are correctly set (NAD83 Oregon State Planes (Polyconic), North Zone, Intn'l Foot) and my surfaces come out beautiful except for one thing - where the actual survey and google earth may differ by a few feet, c3d is off by more than a hundred. For example: The actual contours range in elevation from 184' to 196'. In panning GE the elevations range from 180' to 200'. In C3d, however, they range from 55' to 61'. What's up with that?

 

 

Communication is the key to our success.
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 5 (665 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

01-26-2012 02:56 PM in reply to: Unchained8

Check your settings and orientation in Google Earth.  You need to ensure that the Elevation Exaggeration setting = 1, and that your viewpoint is straight down, with North up before importing data. 

Active Member
Unchained8
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 3 of 5 (642 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

01-27-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: Unchained8

Thanks for your input. All of those parameters are set correctly. I am thinking there is something in c3d that I need to adjust. ?

Communication is the key to our success.
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 5 (610 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

01-27-2012 03:58 PM in reply to: Unchained8

I noticed that the elevation errors reported in the original post would be about right for a feet to meters conversion.  Is it possible that your drawing units are metric, or that the labels are displaying that way?

Active Member
Unchained8
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 5 of 5 (586 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

01-30-2012 06:02 AM in reply to: Unchained8

SBoone, Yes that was the problem! Thank you!

Communication is the key to our success.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.