AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
wturley
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Message 1 of 5 (413 Views)

Civil 3D 2010 Lockup - Clean Reinstall

413 Views, 4 Replies
07-17-2009 06:11 AM
Anyone else having problems with Civil 3D 2010 locking up, it did when I right click in the data shortcut folder to set my working folder. When it locks up and I close Civil 3D 2010, I reopen it and Civil 3D 2010 stops loading at Loading AECC BASE UI, The only way I can use it again is to do a clean sweep uninstall and reinstall 2010. A repair does not work. This has been a pain and has happen twice. Anyone have any clues why or any suggestions would be appreciated. Only thing I can guess is there is error in the drawing since it was last save in 2009 maybe?
Employee
hgohel
Posts: 267
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 2 of 5 (413 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2010 Lockup - Clean Reinstall

07-17-2009 07:31 AM in reply to: wturley
Hi,

Would you reply by email (himanshu dot gohel @ autodesk). There may be something that you might try. Thanks.
Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
New Member
rhangsleben
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-12-2009
Message 3 of 5 (413 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2010 Lockup - Clean Reinstall

08-18-2009 01:29 PM in reply to: wturley
I just ran into this problem too. I was creating a data shortcut for a surface when C3D froze and crashed. When I went to reopen C3D, the program would not initiate and always got hung up in the same place you mentioned......loading AECC BASE UI. I restarted the computer with the same result. Knowing that the creation of the data shortcut caused it to flop in the first place, I deleted the xml shortcut file. When I did this, C3D initialized straight away.

This is a legacy project that I inherited with a bazillion folders/directories. The CAD data is being saved 15 layers deep in the directory structure at this point. Then you ad the ridiculously long xml file name C3D creates on top of that and I wonder if things are getting hung up when initializing as it trys to see the data shortctus and/or working folder when burried deep in a directory? Remember when you open a drawing related to Project A, B, C, or Z that the data shortcuts area in the toolspace is always looking at the last working folder/data shortcuts you told it to. Project DWG files are not automatically linked to a working folder/specific data shortcuts as the SDSK project did in Land Desktop.
Contributor
alloftin
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 4 of 5 (183 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2010 Lockup - Clean Reinstall

08-16-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: hgohel

I'm having the same problem.  CAD crasehd yesterday and I wasn't having this problem.  After the crash I was trying to reset teh working folder and it freezes up.   

 

Was there ever a resolution to this problem?

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,798
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (175 Views)

Re: Civil 3D 2010 Lockup - Clean Reinstall

08-16-2012 02:27 PM in reply to: alloftin

I don't know if a solution was found but one f the first questions to ask is, "Did you install all of C3D 2010's updates after a clean install?"

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.