AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
brodour
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎08-24-2004
Message 1 of 7 (630 Views)
Accepted Solution

Changing Plotter for Sheet Sets

630 Views, 6 Replies
08-19-2009 12:05 PM
I just started to use sheet sets for plotting, and I have hit a snag. My first sheet set wants to plot on 24x36, which isn't necessarily what I want (we usually plot check sets on 11x17, so I need to change the output plotter occasionally). If I go to 'manage page Setups', I get an error message that reads, "The file required to complete this action was not found. You must select a file for Page Setup Override storage to complete this action"
It then prompts me to select a file, but the properties that display don't say anything like, "Default plotter" or "Default output". Attached is a screen cap of what I am seeing as I ask this.

Really, all I need is a little advice on how to change a sheet set to plot on 24x36 or 11x17 on the fly, depending on our needs. Thanks!
You need to create an AutoCAD drawing template file. Inside that file, you need to create page setups for the various sizes/sheets you will use as overrides. Be sure it is saved as a .DWT.

Back in Sheet Set Manager, specify this DWT as the Page Setup Overrides file. Now when you want to plot using overrides, each page setup you created in the template will be available on the cascading menu.

Tim Corey
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,600
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 7 (630 Views)

Re: Changing Plotter for Sheet Sets

08-19-2009 01:28 PM in reply to: brodour
You need to create an AutoCAD drawing template file. Inside that file, you need to create page setups for the various sizes/sheets you will use as overrides. Be sure it is saved as a .DWT.

Back in Sheet Set Manager, specify this DWT as the Page Setup Overrides file. Now when you want to plot using overrides, each page setup you created in the template will be available on the cascading menu.

Tim Corey
Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 3 of 7 (630 Views)

Re: Changing Plotter for Sheet Sets

08-19-2009 01:39 PM in reply to: brodour
Another option is to select the sheets in the SSM then right-click an go to Publish > Publish Dialog Box. Then highlight all the sheets in the Publish dialog, pick the down arrow under page setup and select Import. You can then browse to a drawing or template file and select an existing page setup to import into the publish job.
Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
Distinguished Contributor
brodour
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎08-24-2004
Message 4 of 7 (630 Views)

Re: Changing Plotter for Sheet Sets

08-20-2009 09:48 AM in reply to: brodour
Thanks for the help, but I'm not seeing any option that lets me get to page setup. Attached is what I see when I attempt to follow your instructions- it's quite possible I misunderstood what you're telling me!
Distinguished Contributor
brodour
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎08-24-2004
Message 5 of 7 (630 Views)

Re: Changing Plotter for Sheet Sets

08-20-2009 10:07 AM in reply to: brodour
Actually I think I found it. The problem is, depending on who was working on a drawing and what they have their page setup as, some sheets may be set to our 11x17 printer and some to our plotter. So if I specify 'use plotter in page setup' then some sheets may end up full size and some on check set size.

There's no way to tell AutoCAD, "Plot all the sheets selected to this printer device on this paper size" just plain and simple? Or is that where Tim's suggestion (above) comes in?
Contributor
CeaJae
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 6 of 7 (630 Views)

Re: Changing Plotter for Sheet Sets

08-20-2009 10:35 AM in reply to: brodour
Tim is right on the money.

Just configure your page setups in the template and make sure you specify this template in the sheet set properties.

Then it's just a matter of selecting the sheets you want to print, then right click and navigate to the "Publish" flyout, then look for the "Publish using page setup override" flyout, then you should see a list of all the page setups you configured in the template.

Then you can print reductions, color utilities, etc without modifying the page setups stored withing each sheet drawing or layout.

Very handy for half size sets.

Hope this helps.
Distinguished Contributor
brodour
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎08-24-2004
Message 7 of 7 (630 Views)

Re: Changing Plotter for Sheet Sets

08-20-2009 11:27 AM in reply to: brodour
I understand. Thanks, guys.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.