AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
oceanside
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎08-03-2006
Message 1 of 15 (1,068 Views)
Accepted Solution

Changing Pipe Material

1068 Views, 14 Replies
12-11-2012 02:27 PM

Version Civil 3D 2013....A pipe network has been created & labeled.  All pipes labeled correctly except one.  The material for 15", 18", 24" RCP pipes labeled "RCP" but all the 12" pipes labeled "Reinforced Concrete Pipe".  So I know I need to change the Material of the 12" pipe to read "RCP".  I was hoping to just go to Pipe Properties & change it there for this dwg but it doesn't change.  I was thinking it might be in the part xml file but why would some label "RCP" and the 12" didn't? The Parts Catolog used in this dwg is the default from Autodesk.  Also, in the Part List, Material is greyed out.  That's the first place I went to change the Material. Any suggestions?

the best is at the beach!
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 15 (1,052 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

12-11-2012 09:06 PM in reply to: oceanside

When you go into pipe properties and look at Material, what does it say?  RCP?  If this material is correct then it wouls seem your label style is not labelling the materiual, possibly the pipe description.  Edit your label style so that it's actually labelling the material property of the pipe.

 

This is my guess anyway.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Mentor
oceanside
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎08-03-2006
Message 3 of 15 (1,040 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

12-12-2012 04:41 AM in reply to: oceanside

Under pipe properties the Material is listed as "Reinforced Concrete Pipe" and this is just the 12" pipe.  I have other sizes showing the Material being "RCP".  This is the way I have all the concrete pipes listed in the Parts List.  Only the 12" pipe is labeling different from others.  Under the Pipe Properties, I can change the type "RCP" in the Material list but it doesn't save it when hit Apply.  All pipes are using the same label style...

<[2D Length - Center to Center(Uft|P2|RN|AP|Sn|OF)]>'-<[Pipe Inner Diameter or Width(Uin|P0|RN|AP|Sn|OF)]>" <[Material(CP)]> @ <[Pipe Slope(FP|P2|RN|AP|Sn|OF)]>
I just checked the xml file and it is showing "Reinforced Concrete Pipe" for the 12" so maybe if I change it there, it may appear right on screen.  Any thoughts?

 

the best is at the beach!
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 15 (1,029 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

12-12-2012 07:23 AM in reply to: oceanside
The XML file is used in the beginning but once the pipe has been created I don't believe it's used for the material. You say you change that pipe's material but it doesn't stick when you close the properties dualog? Strange. Maybe just delete the bad pipe and recreate it.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Mentor
oceanside
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎08-03-2006
Message 5 of 15 (1,022 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

12-12-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: oceanside

Yep...that's what I'll do.

the best is at the beach!
Valued Contributor
Cre9engr
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎07-02-2010
Message 6 of 15 (1,010 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

12-12-2012 12:30 PM in reply to: oceanside

I'm having a similiar problem.  Using the OTB parts provided by Autocad, I'm unable to set the pipe material for certain pipes exactly like the original poster's problem.  The reinforced concrete pipe is an example of one such pipe.  I know it has nothing to do with the my pipe labels.  I've quadruple checked my pipe labels.  Also, erasing the pipe and recreating it doesn't solve the problem.

 

The only options to fix the problem, to best of my ability, is to either create  a "special" pipe label to be used with concrete pipe that reads "RCP" instead of "Reinforced Conrete Pipe" or create a custom parts catalog that undos all the problems created by Autocad.  I'm hesitant to stick my neck into part builder because of my loathing for the programmer that designed the most dysfunctional and schizophrenic software on Earth.

 

Creating a custom parts catalog also presents it's own problems at the company makes this solution even more frustrating.

 

Fred

-Civil 3D 2012

Fred
-Civil 3D 2014 sp2
-Windows 7 64-bit
-Intel Core2 Quad with 2.66 GHz
-12 GB of RAM
-Nvidia Quadro FX 4600
-Civil 3D user since 2007
Mentor
oceanside
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎08-03-2006
Message 7 of 15 (978 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

12-14-2012 05:39 AM in reply to: oceanside

I have created a custom parts catalog and changed the pipes to read RCP, DIP, PVC, etc.....even added a few new pipes in Parts Builder (that's where you start)... The problem I found here was when I loaded 2013, I forgot to have the Parts Catalog point to the custom catalog on the Network (I thought about this on my way home from work on Tuesday). Now it works just fine.  That may be your solution..

the best is at the beach!
Mentor
PorterCAD
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 8 of 15 (922 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

01-04-2013 10:04 AM in reply to: oceanside

That's an option, a lot of work, but an option.  I believe the issue that is really in question is, "why can we no longer change the material of the pipe when creating the parts list?"  In previous versions I had this ability.  Now I don't.  I think the reason some of you may not be having this issue is probably because you migrated your catalogs forward (correct me if I'm wrong here).  But I'm working with a client and helping him build his styles and we cannot get the material to read "RCP."  The desired label is something like "12" RCP" but we keep getting "12 inch Reinforced Concrete Pipe" instead. 

 

I believe the source of the issue may be in the part builder.  For whatever reason it's locked in a constant parameter. 

 

Take a look at the attached document with images for better clarification of what I'm trying to explain. 

 

Does anyone know how to unlock this variable? 

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Jason

Jason Porter
Enceptia Technical Advisor & Civil Solutions Blogger
http://enceptia.com/author/jporter/
Active Member
fordtruckman
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 9 of 15 (656 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

08-22-2013 01:45 PM in reply to: oceanside

Does anyone have an answer to this last question?

 

I'm having the same issue.  Somehow, I got the HDPE pipes to change so it shows HDPE in that field and in the labels for the pipe material.

 

But for the RCP is says "concrete pipe" but displays "RCP" in the labels and for PVC it says nothing.

 

I need the PVC to say the correct thing and would like to make sense of how the other pipes are displaying their material.  I do not understand why this has to be so difficult to get right.  Talk about a lot of wasted time...

Mentor
oceanside
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎08-03-2006
Message 10 of 15 (646 Views)

Re: Changing Pipe Material

08-22-2013 01:55 PM in reply to: oceanside

Under Settings...expand Pipe Network...Part Lists...selected a part list...select Pipes...select a pipe & right click....select Edit...Scroll down to Material and change the name for example Reinforced Concrete Pipe to RCP..select OK....let me know if this works for you..

the best is at the beach!
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.