AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 1 of 7 (365 Views)

Change source file & path in Data Shortcuts Editor

365 Views, 6 Replies
09-18-2013 07:04 AM

I need to update both the path and the Source file name in Data Shortcuts editor.  If I update the path, it looks in the new path for the old file name, and throws an error.  If I update the File name, it looks in the old path for the new file name, and throws the same error.  Any way past this?

 

Invalid source file.png

Thanks.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 7 (360 Views)

Re: Change source file & path in Data Shortcuts Editor

09-18-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: troma
BTW working in 2011 if that's relevant.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 7 (350 Views)

Re: Change source file & path in Data Shortcuts Editor

09-18-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: troma

"Invalid Source File"

 

I would probably start with Recover and try again...no idea with this otherwise.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 4 of 7 (346 Views)

Re: Change source file & path in Data Shortcuts Editor

09-18-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: jmayo
"Invalid" means it can't find it. There's nothing wrong with the drawings.

The error comes from looking in the old file path for the new file name, or looking in the new file path for the old file name.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 5 of 7 (345 Views)

Re: Change source file & path in Data Shortcuts Editor

09-18-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: troma

OK, it's working in 2011 but you didn't say which version isn't working.

 

Edit...nevermind, I reread your message. You ARE working in 2011 and that's where it's not...it's early, give me a break :-)

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 7 (336 Views)

Re: Change source file & path in Data Shortcuts Editor

09-18-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: Jeff_M
That's what happens when I omit the pronoun. My bad :smileywink:


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 7 (335 Views)

Re: Change source file & path in Data Shortcuts Editor

09-18-2013 07:51 AM in reply to: jmayo
I've got past the problem.

What I did was rename the files to their old name. Then point the path in the data shortcuts editor. Then I renamed the files back to their new names. Then update the file name in the data shortcuts editor.

It feels like a hack, but it got the job done.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.