AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,961
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 11 of 19 (277 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-13-2013 10:51 AM in reply to: Vasily_BC

The Join and Weed Feature Line command or Mapclean can be used to get rid of most of those verticies and make a single pline. If you do this the offsetting and other operationsshould perform much better.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,961
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 12 of 19 (274 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-13-2013 10:54 AM in reply to: jmayo

If these operations take too long or dog the machine down, then perform the operations on small portions of the buffer. Working with segements of the data will speed you up and you can join the segements together to finish.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Distinguished Contributor
Vasily_BC
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 13 of 19 (271 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-13-2013 11:05 AM in reply to: jmayo

Another method maybe.

1. Create a surface based on sides of ROW.

2. Create contour lines.

3. Extract contour lines.

4. Find proper one.

 

It could be very good technique, but triangulated surface is nor ideal and needs time for correction.

3.JPG

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,828
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 14 of 19 (242 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-13-2013 07:49 PM in reply to: Vasily_BC

Can you share the file? I have some ideas that I want to try on it.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Distinguished Contributor
Vasily_BC
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 15 of 19 (224 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-14-2013 12:11 PM in reply to: jmayo

Sure.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,709
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 16 of 19 (217 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-14-2013 01:25 PM in reply to: Vasily_BC

I concur with Alfred's solution: check this out (more exactly, the animation of 2012/09/17 20:30 post).

Distinguished Contributor
Vasily_BC
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 17 of 19 (204 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-14-2013 02:26 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

The thing is that offset to within doesn't work. Maybe because AutoCAD can't find its center?

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,828
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 18 of 19 (185 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-16-2013 08:22 PM in reply to: Vasily_BC

Here's the problem, you have 15 gazillion verticies (yes, I counted) on that buffer because of the way it was created (i.e. no curves). When doing anything with that, it's going to bomb out on you so get rid of all the little segments.

 

HERE is my solution.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,649
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 19 of 19 (167 Views)

Re: Centerline from Buffer

02-18-2013 08:59 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Hello Brian,

 

You solution works for parallel offsets, but what happens when the two sides of your figure are not parallel? How do you ensure your new polyline is centered between points at a particular station?

 

Tim

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.