AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
nostupidquestions
Posts: 471
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 1 of 7 (1,238 Views)

catchment area

1238 Views, 6 Replies
02-07-2011 08:44 AM

is the catchment area tool like the water drop tool except backwards? if i pick a point on my suface i would think it would give me the area that's flowing to it, like a watershed. it does this somewhat but it's not giving me what i think should be an acurate pline around the area. when i pick a point it should cover the whole side of a hill but it gives just a small area. i've picked a lot of places on the hill but the results are the same. i can't find any settings to maybe tweak the output.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
Distinguished Mentor
Civil3DReminders
Posts: 910
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 2 of 7 (1,232 Views)

Re: catchment area

02-07-2011 09:02 AM in reply to: nostupidquestions

I'd look at the triangles of the surface to see if there are any flat spots that are causing the catchment tool to not make it up the hill. Maybe put a slope label on the triangle to see if it's flowing the correct direction towards the low point.

 

Christopher

Distinguished Contributor
nostupidquestions
Posts: 471
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 3 of 7 (1,230 Views)

Re: catchment area

02-07-2011 09:12 AM in reply to: Civil3DReminders

i'm sure there a bunch of flat spots. it's quite a large site and the contours are derived from contour polylines. i was hoping there was a setting somewhere. i'm trying to find the top of the basin that's draining to our road. i just used the waterdrop tool and defined the ridge that way. my computer isn't powerful enough to use the watershed surface display. thanks anyway.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 4 of 7 (1,188 Views)

Re: catchment area

02-07-2011 07:30 PM in reply to: nostupidquestions

If you review the user assistance, it is recommended that you use the water drop together with the catchment area to define the overall area.  

Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,179
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 7 (1,171 Views)

Re: catchment area

02-08-2011 05:10 AM in reply to: nostupidquestions

Turn on the flow arrows of your surface to review the catchments area; if your surface definition has any vaugaries in it the catchments will pick them up. As Matt mentioned the tool works in conjunction with the water drop.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,157
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 6 of 7 (627 Views)

Re: catchment area

12-19-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

"If you review the user assistance, it is recommended that you use the water drop together with the catchment area to define the overall area. " 

 

For years, this has been a tedious and very unelegant workflow suggestion. It is sophmoric and crude...

 

We need better basin analysis tools that think like an engineer and can see the drainage basin picture. We need surface drainage tools that allow the engineer to quickly achieve the level of basin discretization that the engineer is needing to achieve for the situation.

 

Usually this is aggregating the surface slivers these C3D surface routines typically produce for us, and expanding outward like the OP suggested.

 

Back to the drawing board for C3D programming...quickly get a surface algorithmist on this who understands what we have been frustrated with for years...

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Member
asjanke
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2007
Message 7 of 7 (81 Views)

Re: catchment area

10-20-2014 11:47 AM in reply to: fcernst
Agree with Fred Ernst,

Unfortunately this catchment tool serves limited to no purpose at this point. I see potential in the idea but as of yet it appears to be strictly unrealized.

IE - a catchment area may absolutely have an irregular surface, even for a catch basin which I assume the programmers may have had in mind with this option. There are absolutely times when flow goes over bumps and through pooled up areas that this program just stops at. The water drop tool is also very limited so suggesting that as a work around is not correct. Using it on anything but a perfectly engineered surface is almost useless, and even then fairly limited.
At this time Civil - 3d is not the correct tool to utilize for surface storm water analysis.

Lets define a catchment area: Area in which water will drain to a certain point.

This doesn't mean to the nearest mud puddle, the OP is looking for a option that anybody who works with storm water hopes will get there.

as of no, it appears GIS tools are the best route for these things at this time.

Aaron Janke, PE
U.P. Engineers & Architects, Inc.
www.upea.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.