AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
fjperez
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Message 1 of 12 (2,739 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

2739 Views, 11 Replies
05-07-2012 04:31 PM

The defaul label style for the Elevation of points is set to 3 decimal places. We are trying to change the elevation display to 2 decimal places. We have tried the directions in the following discussion: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/How-to-change-the-number-of-decimal-places-of-the-ele...

 

Which is:

 

Toolspace

->Settings

-->Drawing name

--->Edit Drawing Settings

---->Ambient Settings

----->Elevation

------>Precision -> We modify from 3 to 2 decimal places.

 

It does not modify the display settings.

 

Also:

 

Toolspace

->Settings

-->Drawing

--->Point

---->Label Styles

----->(right-click) Edit label styles

------>Layout

------->Text

-------->Contents

--------->click on the "..." (three points) button

(Open "Text Component Editor - Contents"

--------->Select Point Elevation in the driop down list.

---------->Precision: Set to 0.01

------------>Ok, Apply, etc...

 

This does not seem to work either.

 

Any suggestions appreciated.

 

Thanks,

 

The second method is the one that will work.  You are probably forgetting to press the arrow button that applies the changes.  After you modify the precision you have to press the arrow that "applies" that change to the text field.  See attached image.

When you make the change in the point style did you hit the arrow in the upper as shown. If you did not it does not push the setting to the style.Precision.png

Valued Contributor
907Trekker
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Message 2 of 12 (2,730 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

05-07-2012 05:30 PM in reply to: fjperez

The second method is the one that will work.  You are probably forgetting to press the arrow button that applies the changes.  After you modify the precision you have to press the arrow that "applies" that change to the text field.  See attached image.

Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 868
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 3 of 12 (2,727 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

05-07-2012 05:34 PM in reply to: fjperez

When you make the change in the point style did you hit the arrow in the upper as shown. If you did not it does not push the setting to the style.Precision.png

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Active Member
fjperez
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Message 4 of 12 (2,696 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

05-08-2012 07:06 AM in reply to: fjperez

This worked perfectly. Thanks!

Active Member
tomhoban
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2008
Message 5 of 12 (254 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

11-08-2014 02:57 AM in reply to: fjperez

Hi

 

Following the instructions above I find the precision is set to 3dp which is what I want. The drawing is still displaying to 2 dp. Is there another place I need to change this?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,761
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 6 of 12 (245 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

11-08-2014 07:00 AM in reply to: tomhoban

When you say, "the drawing is still displaying to 2 dp," do you mean your existing label style does not update when you change the precision in the label style editor? If you're setting it and remembering to press the arrow to move your settings to the preview window, as in the two solutions above, and then pressing OK all the way back out, maybe doing a Regen, and it's still not working....

 

Are you sure you're editing the correct label style?

 

BTW, the problem with forgetting to press the arrow to move the new precision settings over still gets me. I've been using Civil 3D since the first preview version, 2004, and I still forget to press that stupid button. I doesn't take as long to figure out what you did wrong after you've done it twenty times, but my forehead sure is getting flat from slapping it and saying, "Doh," all the time.

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Member
tomhoban
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2008
Message 7 of 12 (233 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

11-08-2014 10:02 AM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks for the reply Tim. The thing that threw me was when I got to the text component editor (TCE) and seleted point elevation from the properties the precision was showing as .001 which was what I wanted so no need to change. However the displayed labels were to 2 dp (.01)

 

It wasn't until I selected the text in the black window of the TCE that I noticed the precision changed by itself to .01 so I guess some kind of refresh issue?

 

I also noticed that when resetting the precision and pressing th arrow it is impotant to ensure the old code in the black window is over written or deleted or a fairly mixed up label will occur.

 

So now my point elevations are displaying correctly. I had hoped that this would solve the main problem which is getting my point table to display to 3dp; it hasn't. Any ideas? I can not see anythingin Table Style editor.

 

Tom

Valued Contributor
907Trekker
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Message 8 of 12 (220 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

11-08-2014 10:27 AM in reply to: tomhoban
Tried to reply once but didn't seem to work.



The easy way is probably for you to just click on your point table that you already created, then on the ribbon you should see "table properties", click on edit table style. Then click on all of that text below the "elevation" column. Then that same edit style window will appear and you can change the number of decimal places.

Don't forget to press the arrow.

Mark
Active Member
tomhoban
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2008
Message 9 of 12 (219 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

11-08-2014 10:30 AM in reply to: tomhoban

ok figured it out: double click the structure in data properties of the table style editor and as above.

*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 1,009
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 10 of 12 (212 Views)

Re: Cannot change number of decimal places in elevation label

11-08-2014 10:39 AM in reply to: tomhoban

Tom,

 

Here's a couple more places to look. Ambient Settings Tab in Drawing Settings:

 

Table2.png

 

Settings >> Point >> Commands >> AddPointTable >> Edit Command Settings:

 

Table1.png

 

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.