AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 1 of 6 (1,655 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't locate blocks in a drawing

1655 Views, 5 Replies
01-04-2012 07:58 AM

I have C3D2012 and a drawing that contains 2 blocks that I can not find.  I have tried redefining them to something so big and obvious, but can not find them.  All layers on and thawed.  -Purge does not get rid of them.  Audit finds nothing wrong.

Insert command shows the 2 blocks listed as in the drawing, but I can not find them to remove them.  No Xref's in this drawing. 14Mb drawing.  I do not think they are nested blocks as none of the other blocks contain these two blocks.

 

Any ideas on how I can locate the blocks, so I can ultimately remove them?

 

I am frustrated on this one.  Help - please.

 

 

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,300
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 6 (1,649 Views)

Re: Can't locate blocks in a drawing

01-04-2012 08:53 AM in reply to: glen.cameron

Point styles?

Block Component of Label Styles?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 3 of 6 (1,642 Views)

Re: Can't locate blocks in a drawing

01-04-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Jeff_M wrote:

Point styles?

Block Component of Label Styles?



Thanks for the thoughts Jeff.

 

Unfortunately, they do not appear to be the issue.  Point Styles are using the simple X for the pdstyle, instead of a block.

No label styles are accessing the blocks either.

 

Another bit of info - there are also several linetypes that I can not purge.  I have checked layers, blocks, etc. and can not find them either, so they can't be deleted or purged.

 

I was going to try wblocking the drawing to see what goes with it.  Maybe.... :smileyhappy:

 

 

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 4 of 6 (1,641 Views)

Re: Can't locate blocks in a drawing

01-04-2012 09:07 AM in reply to: glen.cameron

Update - WBLOCK was able to get rid of the undesired blocks but the linetypes still remain.  Hmmmmm.

 

 

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,853
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 6 (1,630 Views)

Re: Can't locate blocks in a drawing

01-04-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: glen.cameron

Since you know the block name you can use QSelect to select it. Then use Zoom Object to zoom to the block. You can use the same method to List or Explode the block.

 

BTW. Just because a block is defined in the drawing doesn't mean an instance of it resides in the drawing. You can have hundreds of blocks defined in a drawing and not see any until they are inserted. Most Civil 3D templates have many blocks defined in them without any being inserted.

 

Allen

Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 6 of 6 (1,619 Views)

Re: Can't locate blocks in a drawing

01-04-2012 10:38 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thank you - QSELECT was the command I was looking for.  This solves my issue!

Happy New Year!

 

 

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.