AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 10 (429 Views)

Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

429 Views, 9 Replies
10-05-2012 05:15 AM

I have a volume surface that I want cut & fill displayed with elevation banding. I created a surface style and chose pastels for the color scheme. When I analyze the surface I chose elevations>> range interval with datum and I get 2d solids but they are not pastel even though the style assigned is the one I mentioned.

 

How do I get the colors to be pastel?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (417 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Did you recompute the surface analysis, i.e. add the ranges again?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 10 (415 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Can you post or send a file? I just did this and it worked fine in 2012.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 10 (408 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: jmayo

Thanks John. Its on the way

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 5 of 10 (401 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

What color scheme are you getting instead of the pastels? That might be the key to finding which style or setting is off.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 10 (398 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 08:32 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

The elevation banding needs to be recomputed after seeing Joe's file.

 

In the Surface Properties dialog, Analysis tab, select Elevation Ranges, assign the number of desired ranges and then hit the chevron arrow to recompute/repopulate the computed slope ranges listed.

 

This is similar to the issue many of us had with label styles when we were learning C3D. We never hit the Arrow button to update the data.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 10 (394 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: jmayo

pastels.PNGOk. I’m a bigger dope than I thought. I’ve repopulated that button at least a dozen times and never get pastels? I can’t find the chevron because I only have a down arrow.

pastelscheme.PNG

 

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 10 (393 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

Thanks Kirk,

 

I posted images to JM

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 10 (378 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 11:20 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

With Kirk's recommendation and Joe's sleuthing we can see that users do not have the ability to edit the fields that need to be edited.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 10 (369 Views)

Re: Can't get Pastel colors assigned to surface range

10-05-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: jmayo

I'll open an SR on Monday.

Thanks

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!