AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
dankoss
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 1 of 9 (832 Views)

Can't Edit COGO Points

832 Views, 8 Replies
12-04-2012 12:14 PM

Hi guys, Civil3D 2013 user here,

 

I was working on my topo today for a few hours when all of a sudden I can no longer snap to a node of the COGO points. By node  I mean the tiny box that appears when you click on a COGO point that lets you rotate the point, move it, move the leader vertex, etc. I can still snap to the nodes of any other object in the drawing, just not the COGO points.

 

Also, I can no longer select any existing objects on a few layers. These objects were extracted from a surface and manipulated and are now just polylines. I can draw new objects on those layers and select them just fine but the current ones I can't select at all.

 

I just went to open the drawing on someone else's computer and I'm having the same problem. In fact, the objects on the layers I extracted from the surface don't even show up on the other computer.

 

I installed the new SP before I left last night, so I assume that might be a problem, but like I said it was working fine for the first five hours of the day and the other computer I used had not yet installed the SP. What the heck is going on?

 

EDIT: I should add that I'm only having problems with this one drawing. All my old drawings still work like they should.

Active Contributor
dankoss
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 2 of 9 (815 Views)

Re: Can't Edit COGO Points

12-04-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: dankoss

After playing around during lunch I have a few other details.

 

If I use the move command and type in ALL the objects that I cannot select still move along with the rest of the drawing.

 

If I copy and a paste a COGO point (Ctrl V/Ctrl C) to a new drawing I can select the COGO point atttribute nodes. When I W block out the COGO point into a new drawing I still cannot select the nodes.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 9 (774 Views)

Re: Can't Edit COGO Points

12-05-2012 08:54 AM in reply to: dankoss

Have you tried Audit or Recover?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Active Contributor
dankoss
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 4 of 9 (771 Views)

Re: Can't Edit COGO Points

12-05-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: troma

I just tried those and no effect. My workaround right now is doing a SELECT, ALL (only way I can select the objects on the funky layer) and then doing a Ctrl C/Ctrl V into another drawing. The new drawing works fine but the old one is still broken. The old one did work briefly after I did the steps above, but then the program crashed, as it likes to do, when I tried to exit or maybe I was saving or maybe just trying to print, and then the old drawing had the same problems again.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 9 (765 Views)

Re: Can't Edit COGO Points

12-05-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: dankoss

I dunno.  You should also check if any layers are locked, or if the points are locked, but to be honest it sounds like something more serioius.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,380
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 9 (761 Views)

Re: Can't Edit COGO Points

12-05-2012 10:41 AM in reply to: dankoss

Can you post, or otherwise share, the problem drawing?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Contributor
dankoss
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 7 of 9 (759 Views)

Re: Can't Edit COGO Points

12-05-2012 10:47 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Here's the drawing. The two funky layers are the contours. C-CONT-MJR and C-CONT-MIN.

 

Judging by how these things usually work I fully expect you to come back and say "Well it worked on my computer."

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,380
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 8 of 9 (750 Views)

Re: Can't Edit COGO Points

12-05-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: dankoss

OK, don't ask me why because I don't have any idea, but....

 

Open the drawing, in layer manager save a layer state, thaw all layers, regen. The objects will now be selectable/editable. Restore the layerstate, the objects are still editable. Save and close the drawing. Reopen the drawing, once again cannot select/edit those objects. Thaw all layers, regen. You can now select/edit, save, close, open...you will still be able to select/edit the objects. 

 

This tells me there is something odd with one of the layers which is being frozen. I don't have time to investigate what that may be, or which one(s) are causing it.

 

Hope that helps a bit.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Contributor
dankoss
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 9 of 9 (744 Views)

Re: Can't Edit COGO Points

12-05-2012 12:11 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks for the help. At the least that's a much quicker and eaiser work around than what I did.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.