AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
68widetrack
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎03-06-2007
Message 1 of 8 (2,211 Views)

Can't Edit Annotative text, move, rotate or erase

2211 Views, 7 Replies
10-29-2007 12:40 PM
Created L200 Annotative text in C3d drawing w/ SP1, INSTALLED SP2,
working in dwg now I can not move, rotate or erase the text that is annotative (the two scale symbols) appear at every piece of text. I tried making in the STYLE text box toggling on and off "Annotative Text" does not help. Also did -purge Regapps, still can not edit text
.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,226
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 8 (2,201 Views)

Re: Can't Edit Annotative text, move, rotate or erase

10-29-2007 01:03 PM in reply to: 68widetrack
I've seen this one too. Try closing and reopening your drawing.
Valued Contributor
68widetrack
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎03-06-2007
Message 3 of 8 (2,201 Views)

Re: Can't Edit Annotative text, move, rotate or erase

10-29-2007 01:09 PM in reply to: 68widetrack
I just tried that, still can't do simple text edits. I think I am going to save the dwg back to '07 acad and fix the text.
.

*Robert
Message 4 of 8 (2,200 Views)

Re: Can't Edit Annotative text, move, rotate or erase

10-29-2007 01:36 PM in reply to: 68widetrack
Audit the drawing. Then you will be able to edit annotated text. It will
happen again and just re-audit. No need to close and reopen.

<68widetrack> wrote in message news:5763617@discussion.autodesk.com...
I just tried that, still can't do simple text edits. I think I am going to
save the dwg back to '07 acad and fix the text.
Valued Contributor
68widetrack
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎03-06-2007
Message 5 of 8 (2,200 Views)

Re: Can't Edit Annotative text, move, rotate or erase

10-29-2007 01:50 PM in reply to: 68widetrack
THANKS ROBERT!!! THAT WORKED!!! I'll have to remember that one.
.

Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 6 of 8 (2,202 Views)

Re: Can't Edit Annotative text, move, rotate or erase

10-30-2007 07:11 AM in reply to: 68widetrack
I am not sure about SP2 but in SP1 the thing that triggered this problem was a save or autosave. When you first open the drawing it works fine. After a save you can no longer edit annotative text until you audit the drawing.
Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
Va1
Active Member
Va1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-07-2010
Message 7 of 8 (2,008 Views)

Re: Can't Edit Annotative text, move, rotate or erase

06-05-2011 10:26 PM in reply to: JeffPaulsen

I just had the same error show up in Autocad 2012.

 

I was working on the file this morning no problems. This afternoon edit some text issue shows up. audit the file I can move the text rotate copy. As soon as I edit a string of text Autocad no longer lets me do anything with that string. I get an error object is already open if I try to change any properties in the properties dialog box.

Moderator
Discussion_Admin
Posts: 731
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 8 of 8 (710 Views)

Annotative text moves when I change my PS scale

09-10-2013 05:43 AM in reply to: Va1
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.