AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
pocketmerlin
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎08-24-2013
Message 1 of 5 (540 Views)

Can't change rim elevation for a storm manhole

540 Views, 4 Replies
01-15-2014 12:31 PM

I have a storm manhole whose rim I can't set below a certain elevation...if I try to make it lower, it just reverts back to that number that it won't go lower than. I changed the properties so that the structure no longer has a reference surface, I changed the "Automatic Surface Adjustment" option for Insertion Rim Behavior to "False."

 

Can anyone help me figure out what's restricting my ability to adjust the rim height?

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,306
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 5 (535 Views)

Re: Can't change rim elevation for a storm manhole

01-15-2014 12:53 PM in reply to: pocketmerlin

You cannot force the rim below the elevation needed for any cone or slab on the structure. C3D will not allow a pipe to lie in that region, so change the structure to have a shorter cone/taper section.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,281
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 5 (527 Views)

Re: Can't change rim elevation for a storm manhole

01-15-2014 01:04 PM in reply to: pocketmerlin

To add to what Jeff said, it may be possible to adjust some settings in Structure Properties such as frame height

or barrel clearance depending on parts catalog etc. to make minor adjustments.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Distinguished Contributor
pocketmerlin
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎08-24-2013
Message 4 of 5 (508 Views)

Re: Can't change rim elevation for a storm manhole

01-15-2014 02:30 PM in reply to: Jay_B

Frame height is as low as it can go from the three options given to me by the dropdown, and I am not able to edit barrel clearance--it's greyed out.

 

I assume I would have to make a new part in part builder in order to get a structure that will let me have a lower rim height then?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (490 Views)

Re: Can't change rim elevation for a storm manhole

01-15-2014 03:19 PM in reply to: pocketmerlin
Use a NF structure and display a block
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.