AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,184
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 11 (442 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can PDF size be reduced

442 Views, 10 Replies
01-17-2013 05:40 AM

Is there a setting that can reduce the sized of a PDF plot? I currently use DWGtoPDF.pc3 and I plotted a 13 sheet set that came out at 35MB. If I plot them as individuals some are 500K and some are 6MB; probably due to images.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

Have you tried to reduce the resolution in the plotter settings before printing? I have one setup for 150 DPI when dealing with aerials. It's usually about half the size and very little loss in clarity.

 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,176
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 11 (439 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 06:11 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe,

 

Not that I'm aware of in AutoCAD Civil 3D. Adobe Standard will do it. I use an inexpensive program, CutePDF Pro, to do it. You can download a trial version. There will be degradation to the images. You'd actually have to try it to see if it would be acceptable.

 

Another thing that might help is if you reduced the image size outside of AutoCAD and repathed the attached images to the smaller versions.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,184
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 11 (437 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 06:12 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thanks Allen. I thought that to be the case. I have tried those options you suggest.

 

Thank you

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,176
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 11 (429 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 06:30 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Have you tried printing with an external PDF printer like CutePDF (the free version)?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,184
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 11 (427 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 06:32 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

That I have not. I'll try the download. The problem I have there is I would need every workstation to get it, no? Which means I would have to go around installing

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,176
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 11 (418 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Yeah. I just throw the install file on the network and visit each workstation.

Distinguished Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 513
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 7 of 11 (405 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 07:25 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Post or email me one and I'll let you know what's inside.

*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 704
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 8 of 11 (399 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 07:40 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Have you tried to reduce the resolution in the plotter settings before printing? I have one setup for 150 DPI when dealing with aerials. It's usually about half the size and very little loss in clarity.

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP2)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,184
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 11 (395 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: klugb

Thats the button I could not find! Thanks I'll report back

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,184
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 11 (383 Views)

Re: Can PDF size be reduced

01-17-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: klugb

Chopped of 10 megs

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.