AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
amm30165
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 1 of 11 (402 Views)

Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

402 Views, 10 Replies
07-29-2009 01:25 PM
I have contour lines (at elevation); can I create a point file from these without having to pick the individual polylines? Is there a way to window all the polylines at once?
Alicia
*John Mayo
Message 2 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-29-2009 02:20 PM in reply to: amm30165
If you extract the contours from the surface you can then create points
along the plines. There are a number of options to do this manually and
automatically from the Point Creation Toolbar or the Points Ribbon drop
down.

--
John Mayo, PE

Core i7 920 6GB DDR3
Radeon 4870HD 1 GB
Vista64
*wfb
Message 3 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-29-2009 02:30 PM in reply to: amm30165
Perhaps if we knew just what you are after, an easy solution might be
available.

Bill
Contributor
dwescott
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-05-2009
Message 4 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-29-2009 03:12 PM in reply to: amm30165
62 different ways to do the same thing, have you considered...

Creating a surface from your contours, then auto-creating points in a grid on your new surface? Export them and you're done. Could do it in a few minutes in LDD, it'd take me a while to find the right spot in 3d2010. I'd assume you could create additional points manually to catch the crucial spots the grid missed.
*Joe Bouza
Message 5 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-30-2009 05:04 AM in reply to: amm30165
If the OP is looking to import into GIS a Map export of extracted contours
would provide the requisite shape files.

Joe
Active Contributor
amm30165
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 6 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-30-2009 05:28 AM in reply to: amm30165
I should have been more specific. I have imported various shp files (from ArcMap - ESRI). I now have existing spot elevation nodes and contour lines (at the correct elevation). I'd like to create existing ground line profiles. I thought a point file had to be created to begin this whole process. I see one can create points from polylines by manually picking them, one by one. I wish I could just window all my spots and polylines at once; but it's probably not that simple. . .
Alicia
Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 7 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-30-2009 07:03 AM in reply to: amm30165
Am I missing something?

If you need to create existing ground profiles why not just build a surface from your imported contours and points then create alignments and profiles?
Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
Active Contributor
amm30165
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 8 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-30-2009 07:11 AM in reply to: amm30165
I'd like to use civil 3d as it is intended and create plan and profile sheets for a sewer project. Trying to wrap my mind around the logic of civil 3d may take some time and practice I am sure. Maybe I need to pose a new question - How do I build a surface from my contours and spots? I assume that once I have this surface, I can create profiles from my alignment line.
Alicia
Active Contributor
amm30165
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 9 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-30-2009 07:16 AM in reply to: amm30165
would I create a TIN surface?
Alicia
Distinguished Mentor
Civil3DReminders
Posts: 910
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 10 of 11 (402 Views)

Re: Can a point file be created from contour lines (at elevation)?

07-30-2009 07:19 AM in reply to: amm30165
Yes, also take a look at the tutorials. If you do the ones that seem to be what you want to do you should be able to get the easy questions out of the way.

Christopher
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.