AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

jwilkerson
Message 1 of 21 (235 Views)

Calling all surveyors, I need your opinion on something.

235 Views, 20 Replies
03-26-2009 08:20 AM
I am a civil engineer (as well as the CAD guro at my company) and I have been having issues with our surveyors not get enough shots in the field. Specifically, when they shoot the top X and bottom X of ramp and driveway curb transitions, they only shoot the TC elevation and not the adjacent flowline and edge of gutter. This causes problems with crossing breaklines (especially around curves) when we go to build the DTM. I understand that these elevations can be found by interpolation but that requires a lot of post processing. I am just curious what the industry standard is on this issue.

Thanks,

Jeff
Distinguished Contributor
davevoith
Message 2 of 21 (234 Views)

Re: Calling all surveyors, I need your opinion on something.

03-26-2009 08:38 AM in reply to: jwilkerson
For accuracy I assume you would want to pick up tc, ep, clrd, ep, tc and add them to your surface as breaklines. But for most Topos Top of Curb and Road Centerlines are sufficient.
nostupidquestions
Message 3 of 21 (234 Views)

03-26-2009 08:50 AM in reply to: jwilkerson
we have the same problem with surveys. all back of curb shots with no edge of pavement shots or maybe a centerline shot every half mile. you would think that when the cad guy builds the contours he would notice that they are not reflecting what is really out in the field. at one time i made a list of things we require from the surveyor but the problem is the property owner usually has a survey when the come to us.
Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
*Christof Lambrecht
Message 4 of 21 (234 Views)

03-26-2009 11:03 AM in reply to: jwilkerson

jeff,

we use GeOpus & Micostation Fieldworks/Inroads,
both let us code a set of parallel lines just by measuring first a masterline