AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
tkasperick
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
Message 1 of 14 (417 Views)

Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

417 Views, 13 Replies
08-12-2013 03:45 PM

I am looking to calculate the volume of an existing berm from a TIN surface.  I have read through some of the Civil 3D tutorials, and realize that I will need to have two surfaces (base and comparison), but need to figure out how to create the comparison surface.  Any help/pointers on how to do so would be greatly appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 14 (410 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-12-2013 04:02 PM in reply to: tkasperick

I would make a FL about the base of the existing berm add it to a surface called something like BermBase. then make the volume surface EG= base and BaseBerm= comparison. The result should be a cut volume equal to the existing berm

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
tkasperick
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
Message 3 of 14 (405 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-12-2013 04:05 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Okay, great.  There are multiple (a lot) of bermed containment areas within the surface that I am looking at.  Will I need to take that into account when comparing the existing surface to my new BermBase?

 

Thank you for your help!

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 14 (397 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-12-2013 04:09 PM in reply to: tkasperick
The calculation will only consider the area directly abobe or below BermBase. Are you saying you need to compute many?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
tkasperick
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
Message 5 of 14 (396 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-12-2013 04:15 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Correct.  I need to calculate the volume of each bermed containment area seperately.  And will the volume of the material above the BermBase be calculated using this methodology?  I should have clarified earlier, but I am technically trying to calculate the volume of a void area that the berm could contain.

 

Once again, thank you for your help!

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 14 (380 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-12-2013 05:12 PM in reply to: tkasperick
make a Fl for each BermBase and the calculated cut will be the volume above. You can add all the FL to one BaseBerm and play with the check boxes under the definition tab to get individual volumes
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,253
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 14 (378 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-12-2013 05:23 PM in reply to: tkasperick

It is not clear to me what volume you are needing to compute. Are you wanting the volume of earth used to build the berms or are you wanting the volume of liquid retained ("containment") behind the berms?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 14 (338 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-13-2013 04:56 AM in reply to: Neilw
I took it as the earth mound?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
tkasperick
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
Message 9 of 14 (325 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-13-2013 07:09 AM in reply to: Neilw

Sorry for the confusion.  I am looking to calculate the volume of liquid retained (containment) behind the berms.  I am not looking to calculate the volume of material that make-up the berm. 

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,253
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 10 of 14 (316 Views)

Re: Calculating Existing Berm Volumes

08-13-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: tkasperick

I haven't been through the workflow, but in principle you'd need to determine the spillover elevation for each contained area. Then create a planar surface at that elevation and use it as a reference surface for the volume. To delineate the perimeter of the contained area you could use the command to extract the boundary between the intersecting surfaces. I don't remember what that command is but you should be able to find it in the help docs.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.