AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 13 (516 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

516 Views, 12 Replies
10-16-2012 08:46 AM

Anyone see this? Two or more files open in a session. Save the cuurent file and one of the other opened files becomes the current file. If I use the CTL+TAB buttons to move between the files the file I choose to be cuurent gets sent to the back and another file becomes current.

 

I had this issue in 2012 out of the box but it seems to occur much more frequently with the latest service pack installed.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

This usually happens to me when I have multiple 3 or more drawing open in 1 session. After a few hours saving a drawing can swap me to a different drawing. All i can say is contol tab is your friend.

Is Toolspace open when this happens to you? If so, close it. Makes Ctrl-Tabbing between drawings faster too.

I used to have this issue and I read about closing my Layers dialog box.  Worked for me!

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 13 (511 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-16-2012 09:07 AM in reply to: jmayo

Yep, drives me nuts. It does this when manually sync'ing Drefs as well.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 13 (507 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-16-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Have you seen a change in this with the latest SP?

 

Have you made any attempt to log the defect?

 

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 13 (502 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-16-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: jmayo

It seems like it is occurring more recently, yes. (i.e. since installing sp2.1).

 

No, I've not logged it. This was a minor annoyance compared to the other issues I was reporting.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Contributor
Craig.Tomlinson
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 5 of 13 (494 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-16-2012 10:06 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

This usually happens to me when I have multiple 3 or more drawing open in 1 session. After a few hours saving a drawing can swap me to a different drawing. All i can say is contol tab is your friend.

Distinguished Contributor
rdlongbow
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 6 of 13 (468 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-16-2012 02:56 PM in reply to: Craig.Tomlinson

Is Toolspace open when this happens to you? If so, close it. Makes Ctrl-Tabbing between drawings faster too.

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 601
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 7 of 13 (430 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-17-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: jmayo

I used to have this issue and I read about closing my Layers dialog box.  Worked for me!

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 816
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 8 of 13 (398 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-18-2012 02:31 AM in reply to: jmayo

All, I have also has this issue since R2013 RC. It seems to happen when an open drawing Auto Saves, the application will switch to the saving document.

 

It does seem to be more occurant when one or more open files have Drefs within although the drawing it switches to does not nessesarily contain them as I have seen this with blank drawings in the background.

 

I don't use the New layer dialogue I use the old one so I suggest that it is not that causing it.

 

 

Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 13 (382 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-18-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

Closing the layer man, toolspace, xref man & props dialog seems to fix a lot of issues. I really wish they would fix the dialogs that continue to introduce these issues. :smileyhappy:

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 13 (350 Views)

Re: C3D switches between open dwg's without human interaction

10-19-2012 06:30 AM in reply to: jmayo

Just want to clarify Craig's post. It appears (so far) that if you CTL+Tab to switch files a new dwg will not be made current if you continue to hold the CTL key during the process.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.