AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
enpope
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 1 of 3 (274 Views)

C3D properties to Point Cloud

274 Views, 2 Replies
09-17-2013 05:44 AM

When I add Civil 3D Properties to an attached point cloud, the point cloud is moved to a new location and elevation. On further examination it appears that the x and y values are reversed. If I remove the civil properties the cloud returns to the correct location. Anyone else experienced this problem are have any suggestions as to what may be causing the problem?

Mentor
sfore
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎08-27-2007
Message 2 of 3 (255 Views)

Re: C3D properties to Point Cloud

09-17-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: enpope

Do you have Service Pack 2 installed?  Did you assign a coordinate system in the drawing under drawing settings?  Did you assign the same coordinate system to the point cloud upon bringing it in through the Point Cloud Dialog?  Where are your point cloud database files stored and are they stored with coords assigned.  I've only created point clouds from .las and .adf files.  When you bring them in through point clouds, (3) files are created such as .iati, .isd, .prmd.

 

I just brought in a point cloud, removed Civil 3D properties and then re-added Civil 3D properties and point cloud remained in the same position.

 

Shawn

Contributor
enpope
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 3 of 3 (234 Views)

Re: C3D properties to Point Cloud

09-17-2013 11:22 AM in reply to: sfore
Thanks for your reply.

I was mistaken about the x and y values being revered. The problem is that the attached PCG file was indexed from a registered Faro fws scan file, and even though the file was registered to State Plane US feet coordinates the native units of the fws file are meters by default . As a result the PCG file must be set to a scale factor of 3.2808 to convert back to feet when attached to the C3D drawing. Apparently C3D ignores the scale factor when you run the routine to add Civil 3D properties to the attached point cloud. This results in the cloud coordinates reverting back to meters. Unfortunately once the Civil 3D properties are added, it want allow you to scale the cloud data back to feet. Changing the assigned coordinates or insert units settings have no effect.

Neal
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!