AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
achillesgr
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎09-12-2012
Message 1 of 3 (175 Views)
Accepted Solution

c3d 2014 scale setup-what is units?

175 Views, 2 Replies
11-03-2013 12:30 PM

hello,

i am new to autocad and also c3d and i am trying to figure out how the scales and printng works.

c3d the last days drives me nuts and i do not understand what is going on.

first i am working in meters .meters is choosen under the drawing settings tab .

i am trying to test print at 1:1  a rectangle with 0.2 meters side that normaly will fit in a A4 sheet since the A4 is 0.21x0.297 METERS .

in the print dialogue i set the 1"mm" = 0.001 "units".

the result is an image multiplied by 1000  .

why that? arent the " units "   METERS? METERS is what i use in the drawing so why i get a biger image?

 

if i set 1"mm"= 1 "unit" and NOT 0.001 i get correct 1:1 print .

what i am missing?  c3d wants me to give 1mm=1meter????

 

please someone help.

thanks

AotoCAD and hence Civil 3D uses the actual papersize units in layouts. So in a layout the units will be in mm's or inches. The scale that the modelspace entities will plot at is an attribute of the viewport and can be set in properties.

 

Allen Jessup

from my nook tablet

Valued Contributor
achillesgr
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎09-12-2012
Message 2 of 3 (167 Views)

Re: c3d 2014 scale setup-what is units?

11-03-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: achillesgr

another strange thing i noticed:

if i create new drawing from acadiso template i get layouts that are in mm .i mean that the "A4 210mmx297mm" is exactly that 210mmx297mm.

BUT in my drawing the "A4 210mmx297mm" is 0
"0.21x0.297"

 

how one layout is in mm and the other in meters?

how can i change that?

thanks

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,938
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 3 (150 Views)

Re: c3d 2014 scale setup-what is units?

11-03-2013 02:29 PM in reply to: achillesgr

AotoCAD and hence Civil 3D uses the actual papersize units in layouts. So in a layout the units will be in mm's or inches. The scale that the modelspace entities will plot at is an attribute of the viewport and can be set in properties.

 

Allen Jessup

from my nook tablet

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.