AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 1 of 6 (206 Views)

C3D 2013 to C3D2014

206 Views, 5 Replies
09-06-2013 07:30 AM

We would like to run both 2014 and 2013 within our office.  I understand 2014 is suppose to be the first version of Civil 3D that is completely compatible with an earlier version, 2013.  I need to know if things like styles, survey database etc. will work both ways between 2014 and 2013. 

I saw an earlier post on this pertaining just to the survey database but would like to see if any issues have come up since and/or if there are problems in other areas.

C3D 2013 (latest updates), 2014 Infrastructure Design Suite

Win 7 Pro, 64-bit

16 GB RAM

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 6 (199 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: rwatson654

I wouldn't say "completely compatible".  Rather, it can be opened and will function reasonably well.  Personally I wouldn't try to mix versions in a single office, if only for the support headaches, and this being the first kick at the can.  Better collaboration with other companies and meeting client requirements is where I see this being right now.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 3 of 6 (196 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 07:47 AM in reply to: dgorsman

Thanks for the reply.

 

I should have stated the only reason for the mixed environment is to evaluate 2014's benefits vs upgrade cost.  Only one system will have 2014.  I just want to be aware of any issues between the two versions to avoid problems with projects.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,730
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 4 of 6 (191 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 08:00 AM in reply to: rwatson654

Here's an older thread re: Interoperability 2014 to 2013, including some limitations and issues folks have ran into.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 5 of 6 (184 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 08:04 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks.  Missed that one when I was researching. Sounds like the 2014 files should be isolated from those using 2013.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,730
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 6 of 6 (181 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 08:06 AM in reply to: rwatson654

Agreed.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.