AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 1 of 6 (204 Views)

C3D 2013 to C3D2014

204 Views, 5 Replies
09-06-2013 07:30 AM

We would like to run both 2014 and 2013 within our office.  I understand 2014 is suppose to be the first version of Civil 3D that is completely compatible with an earlier version, 2013.  I need to know if things like styles, survey database etc. will work both ways between 2014 and 2013. 

I saw an earlier post on this pertaining just to the survey database but would like to see if any issues have come up since and/or if there are problems in other areas.

C3D 2013 (latest updates), 2014 Infrastructure Design Suite

Win 7 Pro, 64-bit

16 GB RAM

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,405
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 6 (197 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: rwatson654

I wouldn't say "completely compatible".  Rather, it can be opened and will function reasonably well.  Personally I wouldn't try to mix versions in a single office, if only for the support headaches, and this being the first kick at the can.  Better collaboration with other companies and meeting client requirements is where I see this being right now.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 3 of 6 (194 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 07:47 AM in reply to: dgorsman

Thanks for the reply.

 

I should have stated the only reason for the mixed environment is to evaluate 2014's benefits vs upgrade cost.  Only one system will have 2014.  I just want to be aware of any issues between the two versions to avoid problems with projects.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,432
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 4 of 6 (189 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 08:00 AM in reply to: rwatson654

Here's an older thread re: Interoperability 2014 to 2013, including some limitations and issues folks have ran into.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 5 of 6 (182 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 08:04 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks.  Missed that one when I was researching. Sounds like the 2014 files should be isolated from those using 2013.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,432
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 6 of 6 (179 Views)

Re: C3D 2013 to C3D2014

09-06-2013 08:06 AM in reply to: rwatson654

Agreed.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.