Distinguished Contributor
scottchang
Message 1 of 18 (447 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D 2013: Input Pt#,XYZ of Points by Using "Points from txt file"

447 Views, 17 Replies
07-25-2013 06:11 AM

Hi all,

I used Notepad to create a txt file of 8 points as a PENZ space-delimited point file (point number, easting, northing and elevation values): see the first attached file

In my AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 (C3D 2013), I selected on the "Insert" tag and clicked on the "Points to File" to import the txt file of 8 points/PENZ space-delimited file.  It worked.  But, the output is not right in the columns of Easting, Northing and Point Elevation: see the second attached file

I am new in doing the Manually Input the Points of XYZ-coordinates in C3D 2013.  Please kindly help and tell me what went wrong in this project.

Thanks in advance,

Scott Chang

Scott,

I've been thinking about your post and whether to answer it or not. My link to the help files in my previous post was a hint that you might want to search the help files for answers first. We never want to discourage new users or students from posting. Questions that appear simple to experienced user are certainly allowed. We were all inexperienced at one time.

However most of use who frequent these forums do hope that users and students will make some attempt to search for answer from a prepared source first. Things like the help files, the Autodesk Knowledge Base, tutorials provided with the program and many available on Youtube or blog sites. Google or other search engines are good ways to find these.

Again. I do not want to discourage you. But you're obviously just learning and we can't turn this group into an online training course. Now lets see about your questions.

1) Erase

2) Learn about Point Label Styles

3) In the Toospace palette on the Prospector tab select the All Points group

(what I had posted was from another users drawing that I was helping and I mixed it in with yours)