AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
249 Posts
11 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Post 11 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-19-2011 09:51 AM in reply to: mathewk

Funny, I'm on the island too....

Regards,
Anthony
Valued Contributor
67 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-25-2007
Post 12 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-19-2011 05:07 PM in reply to: TonyLeggieri3279
We have installed Civil 3D 2012. So far so good except some few OE problemsand normal installation issues when you do not read instructions! Looks stable for a start.
Civil 3D x64 2013
Win 7 x64
Intel Core i7-940XM
8 GB RAM
Quadro FX 5000M
Distinguished Contributor
151 Posts
24 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Post 13 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-20-2011 05:14 AM in reply to: jbear0000

Peter:

 

Any chance of getting full BIM capability or water/gas main functionality built into the program soon?  The architects and building engineers seem to have much more complete tools available in Revit, and C3D doesn't seem to be approaching that any time soon.

 

Jeremy

Product Support
336 Posts
10 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Post 14 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-20-2011 05:54 AM in reply to: jmatthei

I'm not Peter, but I will say that we can't talk publicly about any future release - however, your wish is a very well known feature request with our development team.



Jason Hickey
Premium Services Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Employee
268 Posts
8 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Post 15 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-20-2011 07:30 AM in reply to: gauss2069

 


gauss2069 wrote:
We have installed Civil 3D 2012. So far so good except some few OE problemsand normal installation issues when you do not read instructions! Looks stable for a start.

Hi guass2069, could you give us more details on the "few OE problems" and "normal installation issues?"

 

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Valued Contributor
67 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-25-2007
Post 16 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-20-2011 08:44 AM in reply to: hgohel
I have Internet Explorer IE9. I could not first download from subscriprion center. I used another computer with IE8. it worked. I also had to unistall norton 360 V5 off my laptop to make to install. When I installed C3D 2012, I re-installed norton 360 and IE9. IE9 still shows grayed out on my subscription download. With my norton installed, Reference manager did not work at all. I removed norton and all is working fine again. I am currently testing out the basics. Our dwt template has been update without a problem. Surfaces, points etc are working just fine. I have always installed C3D since 2005 and just run with it! We are happy AutoCAD Civil3D users despite our own pitfalls and some of the program known issues as it develops. We sticking with it though! These are some of the Operater Errors and standalone installation issues we got so far.
Civil 3D x64 2013
Win 7 x64
Intel Core i7-940XM
8 GB RAM
Quadro FX 5000M
*Expert Elite*
6,274 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 17 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-20-2011 08:47 AM in reply to: gauss2069

Check the Norton site. They may have a fix for that.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
134 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Post 18 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-20-2011 09:05 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

I was having similar issues with IE9. I have reverted back to Chrome when needed. However, I did install the beta flash support for IE64 bit and it does seem to be working better.

 

Note that Norton 360 4.0 didnt give me any issues.

Win 7 64bit
16 Gigs Ram
Intel i7 870
Quadro fx1800
C3D 2011/2012
ASUS Custom
Dual 24 Phillips screens
Employee
268 Posts
8 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Post 19 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-20-2011 09:34 AM in reply to: gauss2069

 


gauss2069 wrote:
... These are some of the Operater Errors and standalone installation issues we got so far.

Ah...a misundertanding.  I thought OE=Object Enabler.  Thanks for clearing that up.

 

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Valued Contributor
67 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-25-2007
Post 20 of 29

Re: C3D 2012 vs. C3D 2011

04-20-2011 11:04 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
Allen, Thanks. I had a chat with Norton. Norton was kicking AutoCAD programs big time. Now I am proted with the following solution: http://www.symantec.com/norton/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&ssfromlink=true&sprt_cid=f... Happy modelling!
Civil 3D x64 2013
Win 7 x64
Intel Core i7-940XM
8 GB RAM
Quadro FX 5000M
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!