AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,874
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 11 of 16 (195 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

07-06-2012 02:30 AM in reply to: TheJabberwocky
Use mindistbetweensurfaces (I think this is the name not in front of c3d at present)
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
mnorton
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 12 of 16 (183 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

07-06-2012 03:06 PM in reply to: TheJabberwocky

Using a volume surface the two surfaces being compared meet at elevation zero.  I create a surface style to display major contours only and set the contour increment to a number larger than the volume surface elevation range.  For example, if the maximum volume surface elevation equals +12 and the minimum volume surface elevation equals -14, I set the contour increment to 15.  Only the zero elevation contour will display showing the limits of cut and fill.

Mike Norton - The Civil Guy
www.thecivilguy.com

Civil 3D 2014 (64)
Windows 7 Pro (64) SP1, 16 GB
AMD Radeon HD 6900
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,828
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 13 of 16 (173 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

07-07-2012 05:39 PM in reply to: TheJabberwocky

Sounds like you are calculating a filling curve. The elevation analysis won't work for that because it does the computations in depths, not elevations.

 

I wrote up one way to calculate a filling curve on my blog. You can read about it here: https://civil3dplus.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/filling-curve-using-volumes-dashboard/ 

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Contributor
TheJabberwocky
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 14 of 16 (155 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

07-09-2012 04:35 PM in reply to: mnorton

Thankyou for your responses.

 

Sorry, but I didnt have to try the 3rd way.

 

I used the command MINIMUMDISTBETWEENSURFACES to create a line and then double checked it against the 0 contour in my volume and they matched perfectly.

Contributor
TheJabberwocky
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 15 of 16 (151 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

07-09-2012 05:44 PM in reply to: TheJabberwocky

I was hoping to get more assistance on these surfaces. Boy its driving me crazy.

 

I'm a surveyor, not a civil engineer, so I dont normally deal with these kinds of things (the creation of, not use of). But I need to use the DTM to setout the face of the wall. I'm just having a slight issue with it further down. And since we are using roughly 16000 cubic meters of concrete I want to get it right.

 

Everything is in meters.

 

The eastern end of the wall has a grade of 0.5h:1v

 

The western end of the wall has a grade of 0.7h:1v

 

Theres a roughly 8m gap where it transitions.

 

My four points surrounding it are

 

E: -51.44

N: 111.664

RL: 128.281

 

E: -51.44

N: 91.664

RL: 168.281

 

E: -59.99

N: 111.568

RL: 136.429

 

E: -59.99

N: 911.568

RL: 165.00

 

When I try and create a surface I get either a dip or a hump in it where the triangle comes up, depnding on which direction the triangles run.

 

How can I smooth this out to create a "flat" surface across there so I can set it out properly on site.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,180
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 16 of 16 (141 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

07-09-2012 07:31 PM in reply to: TheJabberwocky

It's the nature of a TIN surface.  The twisted surface shape that you're trying to represent has to be interpolated by the triangles, and it seems that you're not providing enough detail to the surface for it to work as you would like.  I recreated your data but added a series of extra featurelines to improve the interpolation from one side to the other.  It's still not perfect, you can see the wiggles in my contours but hopefully it's enough for your purposes.

 

If you wanted to improve it further you could add a series of elevation points along each of the N-S feature lines so that the triangles aren't running all the way across the surface.

 

Clipboard01.png

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.