AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
TheJabberwocky
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 1 of 16 (557 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D 2012 Volumes help

557 Views, 15 Replies
05-29-2012 11:08 PM

I have been spending a short while doing a volume from some information I have been given. This included me extending surfaces to match into each other and then combining into a single surface until I now have 2 surfaces, an existing and a proposed.

 

What I have been asked to do now is show a number of volumes at certain elevations, basically, the lifts in the concrete pours. I know what these elevations are supposed to be, but I just do not know how to easily do this, without having to start creating new surfaces which match into what I already have. I'm sure there must be an easy way to do this and was wondering if someone could explain it to me.

 

I have an overall volume of roughly 12000 cube, but need to show this in 1.5m lifts. If it was vertical walls would have been no problem, but the sides of my concrete are sloped, as it my existing surface.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Use mindistbetweensurfaces (I think this is the name not in front of c3d at present)

Using a volume surface the two surfaces being compared meet at elevation zero.  I create a surface style to display major contours only and set the contour increment to a number larger than the volume surface elevation range.  For example, if the maximum volume surface elevation equals +12 and the minimum volume surface elevation equals -14, I set the contour increment to 15.  Only the zero elevation contour will display showing the limits of cut and fill.

Distinguished Contributor
mnorton
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 2 of 16 (542 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

05-30-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: TheJabberwocky

A stage storage table would be my first choice but you may be limited on controlling the increments.  Simply enter STAGESTORAGE on the command line and provide the data needed in the dialog.  It's fairly intuitive.

 

Otherwise a simple planar surface compared to your target surface using VOLUMES from the surfaces > utilities menu might work.  The initial elevation of your flat surface should equal the low point of your target surface.  Create the volume entry with the volumes tool and then raise your flat surface the desired increment by simply editing the surface.  The volumes displayed in the volume tool can be recalculated with each edit with a single pick.

 

Not as pretty as a report but you can quickly get your numbers.

Mike Norton - The Civil Guy
www.thecivilguy.com

Civil 3D 2014 (64)
Windows 7 Pro (64) SP1, 16 GB
AMD Radeon HD 6900
Distinguished Contributor
t_mckenzie
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 3 of 16 (538 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

05-30-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: mnorton

Mike,

 

I am having a similar issue. I need to determine the volume of cut greater than 5' in order to estimate costs for rock excavation.

 

I wish I had '12 in order to do the stage storage, but unfortunately I am working in '09. Do you know (remember) if there is a way to do this easily in 09?

 

Thanks,

-Tucker McKenzie

Distinguished Contributor
mnorton
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 4 of 16 (520 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

05-30-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: t_mckenzie

Tucker,

 

The method I described using the surface utilities volume tool is actually pretty effective.  I've used it on some fairly complex flood plain analysis with good results which was not always the case in earlier releases of the stage storage extensions.  The extensions didn't always seem to agree on what actually constitutes a pond.

 

For that matter, the planar surface concept works well with volume surfaces too rather than using the volume tool.  Same steps. 

Mike Norton - The Civil Guy
www.thecivilguy.com

Civil 3D 2014 (64)
Windows 7 Pro (64) SP1, 16 GB
AMD Radeon HD 6900
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 16 (518 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

05-30-2012 11:11 AM in reply to: t_mckenzie

The elevations in a TIN volume surface represent the heights or cut or fill between the two TIN surfaces being compared.  What you need to do is compare the TIN volume surface to a flat planar surface at an elevation of 5'  You will probably need to create an empty TIN surface and paste the volume surface into that, because you cannot use one volume surface as part of the definition for another one.

Distinguished Contributor
mnorton
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 6 of 16 (517 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

05-30-2012 11:22 AM in reply to: t_mckenzie

Tucker,

 

Elevation analysis of a volume surface is another method that would provide the volumes you need.  Compare your existing surface versus your excavation.  Analyze the volume surface using two elevation ranges: minimum to -5 and -5 to maximum.  You can then generate a dynamic table that reflects volumes for both ranges.

Mike Norton - The Civil Guy
www.thecivilguy.com

Civil 3D 2014 (64)
Windows 7 Pro (64) SP1, 16 GB
AMD Radeon HD 6900
Distinguished Contributor
t_mckenzie
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 7 of 16 (513 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

05-30-2012 12:05 PM in reply to: mnorton

Thanks Mike,

 

The elevation range table is exactly what I needed.

 

-Tucker McKenzie

Contributor
TheJabberwocky
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 8 of 16 (492 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

05-30-2012 04:42 PM in reply to: t_mckenzie

thanks for the assistance. I tried this out and they seemed to work ok, but then the client threw a doozy at me and asked for them between each construction joint which runs north-south through my massive pile of concrete. After discussing the best way to do this with another colleague we have decided that doing it by hand is probably the best alternative, after getting x-sections out of c3d.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 9 of 16 (490 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

05-30-2012 05:28 PM in reply to: TheJabberwocky

Bounded volumes may also be an option.  Basically you draw a polyline to define the area, and then the surface to surface volume is calculated only within that.

Contributor
TheJabberwocky
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 10 of 16 (441 Views)

Re: C3D 2012 Volumes help

07-05-2012 10:18 PM in reply to: sboon

As a follow on to my previous issue.

 

I have 2 surfaces which extend past each other. One is rougly bowl shaped running generally east-west, while the other is a slope from south-north.

 

What I would like to know is if there is an easy way to draw a line where the two surfaces meet.

 

I was assuming I might be able to use volumes to do this, as on one side there will be cut, and the other would be fill, but I would like something physical I could snap too. Any thoughts?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.