AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
pyroclast
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-11-2007
Message 1 of 6 (561 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D 2011 (and 2012) strange lockup

561 Views, 5 Replies
04-29-2011 12:43 PM

I've a problem, mainly with C3D2011 but also with C3D2012 since I just started to use that version.

When I'm working with the program it all of a sudden locks up, the windows wheel is spinning and my toolpalettes and drawing window "flashes". This goes on for about 5 to 10 minutes and then the program goes back to normal. I cannot pinpoint if this happens when using a certain command, it feels like it appears randomly. And just to be clear, it is not the "turn off and on hardware acceleration" problem :smileyhappy:

 

I use a Dell M6400, QX9300 processor, 8 Gb RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX 3700M, W7 Ultimate 64, dual screens.

When I use the performance monitor I can see that all the four cores uses about 80-100 % of their capacity but C3D (in red, not responding) only uses 25% = 100 % of one core.

None of my colleagues are experiencing the same problem, but they are using stationary workstations, so I'm actually suspecting it could be some kind of a hardware problem, but C3D is the only program I have problems with.

 

Maybe some one of you out there have an idea what kind of computer disease this could be :smileyhappy:

 

/Peter

A month have passed since I replaced my graphic card. No "strange lockups" have occured after that...just the usual fatal errors :smileyhappy:

 

/Peter 

Distinguished Mentor
OMCUSNR
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 2 of 6 (522 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 (and 2012) strange lockup

04-30-2011 08:45 AM in reply to: pyroclast

Questions -

 

Does it happen with all drawings or just one?

 

Are you dealing with large data sets, like point clouds or very large shape files?

 

Mine will slow down considerably when dealing with the county's tax map.

 

Reid

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
Contributor
pyroclast
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-11-2007
Message 3 of 6 (503 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 (and 2012) strange lockup

05-01-2011 05:22 AM in reply to: OMCUSNR

It happens to all of my drawings. I usually work with files about 2-2.6 MB, sometimes up to 7-8 MB. The last time the "problem" appeared, I drew a simple polyline and the time before that, I worked with a xline. The "problem" has also occurred when just panning a drawing.

I have tested to work with point clouds and also observed the system slow down because of the large data set :smileyhappy:

 

/Peter

Employee
hgohel
Posts: 267
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 4 of 6 (467 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 (and 2012) strange lockup

05-02-2011 03:31 PM in reply to: pyroclast

pyroclast:

 

Look for a recent thread about updating the BIOS helping Sinc and others get better behavior on systems that previously exhibited the busy cursor/not responding.

 

Just last week I ran into a problem with a dreaded Blue Screen of Death on my Win7 system until I found a hotfix from Microsoft for the issue...Windows Updates only distribute the most widely applicable updates on to systems, but others may be needed for specific systems/configuration.

 

DELL may have specific Windows hotfixes that are applicable to your system also, so please check their site too.

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Contributor
pyroclast
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-11-2007
Message 5 of 6 (420 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 (and 2012) strange lockup

05-10-2011 01:53 AM in reply to: hgohel

Bios up to date...

All available hotfixes installed...

But I hope I have found the solution. I replaced my graphic card (incl. heat sink and fan) which where running a little bit to hot. No lockup or strange behavior since Friday :smileyhappy: 

 

/Peter 

Contributor
pyroclast
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-11-2007
Message 6 of 6 (355 Views)

Re: C3D 2011 (and 2012) strange lockup

06-08-2011 11:48 PM in reply to: pyroclast

A month have passed since I replaced my graphic card. No "strange lockups" have occured after that...just the usual fatal errors :smileyhappy:

 

/Peter 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.