AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
chd4trichard
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 1 of 3 (262 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D 2010 vs.TopSurv 8.0 xml import problems

262 Views, 2 Replies
03-14-2012 12:39 PM

We're noticing some discrepancies between AutoCad C3D 2010 and Topcon's TopSurv 8.0 in coordinates generated for C3D objects imported using LandXML.  We have a road design (corridor, several finish surfaces) created in C3D.  Corridor and surface information was exported to LandXML.  On import to TopSurv orTopcon's SiteMaster, the horizontal alignment, corridor, and surfaces all exhibit coordinates with a +/- 5' offset from design.  When the same XML file is imported to a new C3D file, the coordinates of the civil objects are "correct", meaning they match the design drawing. Point data exchanged between these two formats does not exhibit a translation, only the C3D non-point objects when using the xml file format.  

 

What else should I be checking to try to resolve this translation error?  I've checked import/export settings in C3D, those appear to match the job.  Anyone else seen this behavior before?  I've seen C3D do some strange things when attempting to export pipe networks with LandXML, wondering if this is the same phenomenon.  Anyone else successfully exporting C3D corridors to TopSurv?  If so, a brief description of your workflow might shed some light on our problem.

 

Thanks

 

C3D 2010 SP2

Windows 7 Pro SP1

8G Ram, CoreDuo processor

TopSurv 8.0

I'm able to replicate the error when the design drawing settings are set to Int'l foot before export; the original xml file must have been created with this toggled in the Drawing Settings.  LandXML settings were not the issue in this case. 

 

I think that's the problem, thanks for the help!

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,364
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 3 (254 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 vs.TopSurv 8.0 xml import problems

03-14-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: chd4trichard

Sounds like a US Survey foot vs International foot issue. Make sure your LandXML Export settings are set correctly. That's all I can think of at this time.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Member
chd4trichard
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 3 of 3 (246 Views)

Re: C3D 2010 vs.TopSurv 8.0 xml import problems

03-14-2012 02:12 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

I'm able to replicate the error when the design drawing settings are set to Int'l foot before export; the original xml file must have been created with this toggled in the Drawing Settings.  LandXML settings were not the issue in this case. 

 

I think that's the problem, thanks for the help!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.