AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-09-2012
Post 1 of 7

Building Pad and Corridor Grading

910 Views, 6 Replies
08-09-2012 06:57 AM

The building pad I made does not tie to my corridor grading. I have the EG surface, my pad PG surface trageting the EG, the corridor is targeting the EG (can't find a way to target both the EG and PG?)

 

What am I doing wrong? Thank you!

 

earth.jpg

Mentor
186 Posts
13 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Post 2 of 7

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: SOUTHMING

I would usually have a Finished Ground surface. Paste your grading group surface and add your building pad feature line to that surface along with an outer boundary and everything should triangulate the way you want.

-Dustin
Civil 3D 2013 64 bit SP1
Windows 7 Pro 64
Intel Xeon 2.93GHz
24GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
explodetheblock.wordpress.com
*Pro
1,474 Posts
49 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Post 3 of 7

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: SOUTHMING

it's not very clear what is going on based on the information provided.   A picture of the corridor properties might be helpful.   also a picture identifying the building pad.   I doubt it's necessary to target two surfaces with the same sub assembly.   Give more pertinent information and people should be able to help.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
1,955 Posts
161 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Post 4 of 7

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 07:37 AM in reply to: dgordon

According to Toolspace as Dustin related there is no Final Surface.

 

1.  Make a new surface. (Final Surface)

2.  Paste E. Surface into it.

3. Paste the other surfaces in.

 

Remember the last paste will override the previous.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
3,044 Posts
245 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 5 of 7

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: SOUTHMING

Just to clarify the other reponses a bit.

 

Make a new surface. Paste in the EG and paste in the corridor surface to form a new target surface that blends the EG and roadway.

 

The residential grading can tie into this new surface.

 

Data references or vault could be used to share this surface with the project so the residential grading is in a different file.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-09-2012
Post 6 of 7

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 08:00 AM in reply to: jmayo

Thanks. Ah, I created an empty Final surface. (tin surface?) On the tool space it does not give an right click option to "copy" the Existing topo or pad surface.

 

I guess I could combine one of the proposed surfaces (pad or corridor) to the existing grade to make one target surface manually.

*Expert Elite*
4,621 Posts
920 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Post 7 of 7

Re: Building Pad and Corridor Grading

08-09-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: SOUTHMING

Paste, not copy....:

8-9-2012 8-35-54 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!