AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 3 (163 Views)

Block constraints. How do I hold a line to txt length?

163 Views, 2 Replies
01-15-2013 09:00 AM

I am using Civil3D 2012 SP 2.

 

I am creating a block for my details. I want to be able to title my block and the the line under my txt will change it's length based on the lenght of the text. I keep playing with the constraints, but I haven't found one that is doing what I want.



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,618
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 3 (157 Views)

Re: Block constraints. How do I hold a line to txt length?

01-15-2013 09:30 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett

One solution would be to underline the text.

 

When typing text to be underlined, preface it with %%U. For example: %%uTitle will be Title. Changing the text will change the underline.

 

Another way would be to use a Civil 3D Note object (but it can't be part of a block) and underline or create a line component that uses start and end of the text component as its start and end points.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 3 of 3 (152 Views)

Re: Block constraints. How do I hold a line to txt length?

01-15-2013 09:50 AM in reply to: tcorey

I thought of those options, but I kind of wanted the line a different color and I want to do it all in a block so it will be seemless.



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.