AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 3 (164 Views)

Block constraints. How do I hold a line to txt length?

164 Views, 2 Replies
01-15-2013 09:00 AM

I am using Civil3D 2012 SP 2.

 

I am creating a block for my details. I want to be able to title my block and the the line under my txt will change it's length based on the lenght of the text. I keep playing with the constraints, but I haven't found one that is doing what I want.



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,646
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 3 (158 Views)

Re: Block constraints. How do I hold a line to txt length?

01-15-2013 09:30 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett

One solution would be to underline the text.

 

When typing text to be underlined, preface it with %%U. For example: %%uTitle will be Title. Changing the text will change the underline.

 

Another way would be to use a Civil 3D Note object (but it can't be part of a block) and underline or create a line component that uses start and end of the text component as its start and end points.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 3 of 3 (153 Views)

Re: Block constraints. How do I hold a line to txt length?

01-15-2013 09:50 AM in reply to: tcorey

I thought of those options, but I kind of wanted the line a different color and I want to do it all in a block so it will be seemless.



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.