Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Way to Present Corridor's in Drawings

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
boberdorf
810 Views, 9 Replies

Best Way to Present Corridor's in Drawings

I am new to Civil 3d, and have just completed the first pass on a design that includes several corridors.  I am confused on the best way to prepare actual drawings.

I initially thought that plan production would be useful, however it seems that these are fixed.   It seems odd that draft drawings cannot be present for review and editing. Is this correct or am I missing something? 

It also seems like a huge task to generate the styles required to present the corridor in an appropriate format for a drawing, let alone several drawings that may have different requirements - in particular for a new comer who would not have set up the range of styles.

Therefore I consider two approaches are feasable - XREF the corridor or Extract Polylines.

I now think the best way to prepare drawings is to export polylines of the key components of the corridor and prepare drawings using this.  This would be combined with the alignment, pipe and surface data, that can be used in the drawings via Data Short Cuts.

I would appreciate any guidance from old hands.

Thanks

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
castled071049
in reply to: boberdorf

Honestly, we don't show corridors at all in our plan sets. We have an underlying BASE PLAN that is just plain old Autocad lines and arcs, etc., representing all the horizontal elements of the corridor (face of curb, back of curb, road centerline, etc.). We data reference in the corridor surface to give vertical information.

My advice is, don't bother with the corridors themselves as it is too time consuming and any solution/workaround would not be dynamic.

Message 3 of 10
Jay_B