AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ruipfbarreiros
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Message 11 of 15 (217 Views)

Re: Best way to edit a pipe network layout

07-05-2012 11:32 AM in reply to: castled071049

I meant that the with the alignment I can only control the network I will later insert horizontally.

To edit the pipes vertically, I must have already created the network. 

Right?

 

 

---------------------------------------

Using Building Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 12 of 15 (216 Views)

Re: Best way to edit a pipe network layout

07-05-2012 11:33 AM in reply to: ruipfbarreiros

Exactly right.

Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 13 of 15 (163 Views)

Re: Best way to edit a pipe network layout

01-30-2013 03:18 PM in reply to: castled071049

The biggest problem I run into is having to re-enter my pipe inverts every time I change my layout in plan view. I wish there was a way that when I move the nodes in plan view I wouldnt lose my inverts in my profile. It's very annoying because my profile views typically only show between El. 700 and 730 (30' or so) and when I move my nodes in plan, the pipes drop  off of the profile view entirely and I have to re-enter my inverts via pipe properties just to get them back on the profile view for adjustment. There has to be a better way.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 14 of 15 (158 Views)

Re: Best way to edit a pipe network layout

01-30-2013 03:54 PM in reply to: ruipfbarreiros

for me the alignments from part has worked fine, editing postion after the fact nevergot in the waywhen I grip the structure I grip the pi at the same time. the pipes and the profile view change with the plan edits. The vertical edits, eh... Its engineering : stuff happens.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
drazen-ars
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 15 of 15 (150 Views)

Re: Best way to edit a pipe network layout

01-31-2013 01:42 AM in reply to: ruipfbarreiros

Just my small contribution to the whole discussion. My personal opinion is that, regarding pipes, concept of alignments (way how it is now implemented) is wrong or not effective.

If you have just pipe network, I would like to draw profiles without alignments, just through sequence of sections and nodes. And, yes, if I would like to edit something, not to take care about editing both network elements and alignments to update profile view.

 

Drazen

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.