AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 11 of 16 (303 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-18-2013 05:01 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Dats da one. :smileywink:

 

Maybe I'm reading too much between the lines but I steer clear.

 

In my earlier experience I used a BasiCurb and because it has no offset on the face I believe it caused corruption in my TIN, at the time.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 12 of 16 (299 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-18-2013 05:50 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I too stear clear of the basic subassemblies. Why? Well, I remember them causing issues several releases ago. What where those issues? I honestly don't remember.

 


If the only reason you are doing something is because that's the way you've always done it, you're doing it wrong.

Perhaps I should go revisit the basic subs and see if they still cause issues or not.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Distinguished Contributor
taneum
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎01-07-2005
Message 13 of 16 (286 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-18-2013 10:04 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Jeff_M wrote:

Instead of a Basic Lane, use a UrbanSidewalk with a 0' inside width, 2' walk, 0' outside width. Attach the ret.wall to this, the sidewalk width can be set to a target.


Yep that worked Jeff.  The only thing I ran into was, I put the "shape trapezoidal" sub-assembly under the sidewalk and in my section where the urban sidewalk was gone because the wall took its place, the shape trapezoidal sub-assembly moved up in the place of the sidewalk.  I didn't get this at first but when I targeted that sub-assembly to the same target lines as my sidewalk was targeted to, the shape trapeaoidal sub-assmbly went away also.  Make sense?  Kinda wordy but I think it doing what I need it to.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,478
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 14 of 16 (281 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-18-2013 10:24 AM in reply to: taneum

Yes, that makes sense. Glad it worked for you!

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 15 of 16 (267 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-19-2013 07:09 PM in reply to: fcernst

Your absolutley right Fred; they would never put anything in the program that would screw things up :smileywink:

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 16 of 16 (266 Views)

Re: Basic Lane Sub-Assembly and Targets........

01-19-2013 07:10 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

good point

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!