AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
1,361 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Post 1 of 6

“Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

201 Views, 5 Replies
10-16-2012 02:42 PM

“Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

 

In the screenshot below, the “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in relation to the existing ground.

 

What might be the reason that it is not closed with the existing ground?

 

Thank you for the help,

 

Best

 

Jamal

 

Clip_186.jpg

 

 

Clip_187.jpg

 

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
350 Posts
28 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Post 2 of 6

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-16-2012 04:27 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

To me it looks like a target isn't set properly in your Corridor Properties. Either that or there is a gap in your surface which it doesn't look like is the problem.

*Expert Elite*
2,805 Posts
288 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Post 3 of 6

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-17-2012 07:48 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Your surface isn't wide enough at that station.  You're using, say, a 3:1 slope and that slope will not intersect the surface because there is not enough surface.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Mentor
1,361 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Post 4 of 6

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-17-2012 02:24 PM in reply to: mathewk

Thank you guys for the answer. This is quite useful.

 

Does this affect the calculations of fill and cut then? What might other consequences be?

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
2,805 Posts
288 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Post 5 of 6

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-17-2012 02:39 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

It will absolutely affect your volumes because there would be nothing to calculate at that station.  You NEED to make your surface larger in that area.  Either get more survey or make stuff up (fudge).

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Mentor
1,361 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Post 6 of 6

Re: “Basic assembly” is not drawn correctly in the section view,

10-19-2012 01:46 AM in reply to: mathewk

Many thanks for the valuable answers.

 

I tried to modify the slops of the “assembly” but sounds that the “sections” doesn’t repond!

 

Is there a particular way to update them according to the change in the “assembly”?

 

Clip_228.jpg

 

Clip_229.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!