AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
BethZetzman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 1 of 4 (532 Views)

Bad linetype error, reestablish support paths

532 Views, 3 Replies
06-06-2012 01:23 PM

I used autocad 2010 at my old job but I now use 2012. Now, I keep getting a "bad definition for linetype" error when I try to use linetypes that worked fine at my old job. Someone suggested that I reestablish my support paths but I don't know how to do this. Can anyone shed some light on this?

Active Contributor
JonRusk
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 2 of 4 (527 Views)

Re: Bad linetype error, reestablish support paths

06-06-2012 02:22 PM in reply to: BethZetzman

How are trying to 'use' the linetypes? Sounds like the linetypes or text styles they use are not defined in your drawing. If you try to load a linetype (type LT) that uses a text stye that is not in your drawing you will get that error.

Civil 3D 2013 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Dell T3500 - Xeon 2.67 - 24gb - Quadro 600
New Member
BethZetzman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 3 of 4 (523 Views)

Re: Bad linetype error, reestablish support paths

06-06-2012 02:38 PM in reply to: JonRusk

The linetypes that give me the error have shapefiles associated with them. The ones that reference a text styles work so maybe it has something to do with autocad not recognizing the shapefile? Do I need to load the shapefiles that are referenced in the linetypes into autocad and if so how do I do that?

Active Contributor
JonRusk
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 4 of 4 (521 Views)

Re: Bad linetype error, reestablish support paths

06-06-2012 02:49 PM in reply to: BethZetzman

Yes. To load a shapefile type LOAD.

 

You may want to load the shapefiles and linetypes in your template drawing so they are there for all new drawings. You will find the location of that file in Options (type OP or options) in the files tab under template settings > default template file name for QNEW.

 

 

 

Civil 3D 2013 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Dell T3500 - Xeon 2.67 - 24gb - Quadro 600
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!