AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
patferrell3461
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 1 of 5 (1,547 Views)

Background Masks not Plotting

1547 Views, 4 Replies
03-16-2012 01:05 PM

Since we updated to C3D 2012, our background masks are not plotting.

 

They show up and seem to work properly in both Model and Paper spaces as well as print preview.

 

They do not plot whether it is selected through the MText dialog or in an Object Label dialog box.

 

I have made sure the draw order was correct and made sure that the "Lines Overwrite" option is selected.

 

This is happening on all three of our workstations which are a mix of XP and Win 7. We are printing to a KIP 3000 and I have made sure the drivers are up-to-date.

 

I have searched for a solution for this problem here in the forums and on the internet over the last few months with no success. Is anybody else having this problem or have an idea what it could be?

Contributor
civil_tech3
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 2 of 5 (1,541 Views)

Re: Background Masks not Plotting

03-16-2012 02:01 PM in reply to: patferrell3461

Found this on a different site, I have 3 printer setting here and sometimes i got to switch between them even though it is the same printer.

 

 

I just created a new pc3 for the plotter and it works fine. We recently upgraded from AutoCAD 2000i and the old plotter configuration was migrated from that. I'm finding more and more reasons to wish we had just started from a clean slate instead of migrating our settings

 

Good luck

 

Justin

Valued Contributor
rick.hberg
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 3 of 5 (1,536 Views)

Re: Background Masks not Plotting

03-16-2012 02:19 PM in reply to: patferrell3461

I only have C3D 2011, but I do use the kip 3000 also.  We had to make sure the driver is set to "KIPScript" in the properties/printer options.

 

Let me back up a step....all I print are pdf using the DWG to PDF standard installed driver.  If you do that, and the pdf looks good, it must be the printer settings.  KIPGL I think is the default instead of KIPScript, and KIPGL never plots the backgrounds. We set up the driver on the network to default to KIPScript and it works very nice with the pdf plots.

 

I never print straight to the KIP or any other printer straight out of cad, so I can't really offer any input there....I just find it easier to have one page setup that is the full size and everyone can use, and then let pdf do all the leg work to the printer.

 

Hope it helps.

Civil 3D 2014
Windows 7 x64
*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 4 of 5 (1,524 Views)

Re: Background Masks not Plotting

03-16-2012 02:35 PM in reply to: patferrell3461

Try using KIP Request to spool your plot files/PDFs to your KIP3000. I've experienced some odd mask behavior from my KIP3000. It would actually print the masks as black and white stripes. Spooling from KR results in masks behaving as they should, plotting directly from AutoCAD does not. I went through all the settings available, but nothing I can change in the pc3 file, or windows driver settings would change the striped masks. Changing driver versions did not help.

 

Very odd issue, that I have yet to find a total solution for. The KIP tech that services it also does not have a solution.

 

~ Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 5 (1,509 Views)

Re: Background Masks not Plotting

03-16-2012 06:30 PM in reply to: patferrell3461
With HP printers there's a setting called Merge Lines or Overwrite Lines. Merge Lines does not work with background mask.

In the plot dialog click properties for your printer and you'll find these settings in there. I think under custom properties.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!