AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
mericks2
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-03-2003
Message 1 of 13 (389 Views)

Background Mask

389 Views, 12 Replies
04-09-2009 06:42 AM
Does anyone know if there is a way to change the default settings for the background mask used with Mtext?
Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
beacivil1
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
Message 2 of 13 (388 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-09-2009 09:26 AM in reply to: mericks2
The only thing I know of....well, the only "free" thing I know of is to set one of your mtext up, then use the match properties command for the rest of them. If you have different sets of mtexts with different sized and all, then you'll have to set up one of each.

Otherwise, buy sincpac-c3d and be done with it. (Sinc would be the one to talk to about it)
Bryan_S
Windows 7 Enterprise
3.00 GHz Xeon Quad-Core 64bit / 16gig ram
Nvidia Quadro K2000
*Mark Spatz, P.E.
Message 3 of 13 (388 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-09-2009 11:08 AM in reply to: mericks2

I'm feeling generous today.  Attached is
the textmask lisp that Express Tools uses.  We edited to work with
DTEXT and MTEXT.

 

Enjoy!
Distinguished Contributor
beacivil1
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
Message 4 of 13 (388 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-09-2009 11:38 AM in reply to: mericks2
Mark,

Does the routine do the same thing that Express tools in C3d 2009 does? I tried the 2009 ET's and it will do mtext and dtext.

Thanks for the routine!
Bryan_S
Windows 7 Enterprise
3.00 GHz Xeon Quad-Core 64bit / 16gig ram
Nvidia Quadro K2000
*Mark Spatz, P.E.
Message 5 of 13 (389 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-09-2009 12:33 PM in reply to: mericks2

Yes, but the normal textmask routine from Express
Tools puts a wipeout frames around MEXT.  Our modified routine (which, when
loaded trumps the Express Tools route) actually turns no the MTEXT
background masking.  You can select all your MTEXT at once and you can
adjust the offset like normal DTEXT when making with the modified
routine.
Distinguished Contributor
beacivil1
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
Message 6 of 13 (389 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-09-2009 12:43 PM in reply to: mericks2
I see- thanks for the routine!! I will definitely be able to use that. Hopefully the original poster of this thread will too.

Beacivil1
Bryan_S
Windows 7 Enterprise
3.00 GHz Xeon Quad-Core 64bit / 16gig ram
Nvidia Quadro K2000
Distinguished Contributor
omc-usnr
Posts: 621
Registered: ‎04-25-2007
Message 7 of 13 (389 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-09-2009 12:45 PM in reply to: mericks2
Sweet! Thanks Mark!

Reid
*Mark Spatz, P.E.
Message 8 of 13 (389 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-09-2009 01:12 PM in reply to: mericks2

Best thing about the routine is if you can get it
to load for all your users at startup they won't even know the
difference and they can still use the pull-down from Express Tools.  It
just works better with MTEXT and subsequently ANNOTATIVE text
since MTEXT background masking adjusts with annotative
scale.

 

(loading of the lisp at startup needs to
happen AFTER Express Tools initializes).
Contributor
matto235
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 9 of 13 (266 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-21-2011 09:31 AM in reply to: mericks2

Mark, if you are still active on the forum I have a question about the textmask.lsp.   It keeps sending me into a initialization loop when I try and run it.  Any help would be appreciated.

Valued Contributor
Adam_Farnsworth
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 10 of 13 (255 Views)

Re: Background Mask

04-21-2011 11:02 AM in reply to: matto235

Are you just looking to mask mtext?

 

In Properties, there's a "Background mask" row that you can either set to Yes or No.

 

I know this doesn't answer any questions about your .lsp, but I thought I'd through my 2 cents in :smileyhappy:

 

--Adam

Windows 7 x 64
ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
12 GB Ram
i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz
Civil 3D 2011, 2010, 2009 and occasionally 2008 still (unfortunantly)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.