AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kevincurrey
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎01-25-2005
Message 1 of 6 (78 Views)

Automatic parcels

78 Views, 5 Replies
05-16-2005 03:23 PM
Is there anyway to STOP c3d from automatically creating parcels if my alignments form a closed area? Once one has already been created, is there any way of deleting it without deleting an alignment?
*Matt Kolberg
Message 2 of 6 (78 Views)

Re: Automatic parcels

05-16-2005 04:04 PM in reply to: kevincurrey
Ok I'm watching this one with bated breath. I have the same issue. What I
do to get rid (of the labels at least) is create a style that doesn't
display anything. The parcel still exists, but does not show the labels.
I'd still like to know your answer though.

Matt Kolberg


wrote in message news:4846654@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there anyway to STOP c3d from automatically creating parcels if my
alignments form a closed area? Once one has already been created, is there
any way of deleting it without deleting an alignment?
*Laurie Comerford
Message 3 of 6 (78 Views)

Re: Automatic parcels

05-16-2005 05:01 PM in reply to: kevincurrey
Hi,

Parcels and alignments only interact when they are on the same site.

Create a separate sites for each and problem resolved.

--

Regards,


Laurie Comerford
www.cadapps.com.au

wrote in message news:4846654@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there anyway to STOP c3d from automatically creating parcels if my
alignments form a closed area? Once one has already been created, is there
any way of deleting it without deleting an alignment?
Distinguished Contributor
kevincurrey
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎01-25-2005
Message 4 of 6 (78 Views)

Re: Automatic parcels

05-16-2005 07:40 PM in reply to: kevincurrey
Thanks Laurie, but that doesn't seem to work for me. If I move the alignment to a different site, the parcel moves with it. Same thing if I move the parcel. And there is no way that I can find to change a default setting for which site a parcel is built on.
*Daniel Philbrick
Message 5 of 6 (78 Views)

Re: Automatic parcels

05-17-2005 05:22 AM in reply to: kevincurrey
Kevin,

Autodesk Civil 3D has a dynamic topology model which is used for analysis of
parcel and alignment linework in the design. When you created the
objects, you do need to specific a "Site" for the objects. The parcel and
alignment creation dialogs have a control which allows you to select the
specific Site. It looks like we did not provide a setting for the "default"
site when you run those commands. That is a good suggestion.

If the objects are in different Sites, then there will be no interaction of
parcels, alignments, and feature lines between Sites. In Autodesk Civil 3D
2006, there is a new feature which allows the users to move the objects
between Sites.

If the alignments or parcels form a closed shape, it will create a "parcel"
in that Site. Therefore, in this example, if the Alignment forms a closed
loop, it will create a parcel in the same site which contains the alignment.
The same behavior happens when parcel segments form a closed loop. The
parcel which is created cannot be "deleted" since there is a topological
relationship between the parcel segment lines (and alignments) and the
closed area. The best solution is to hide the label. You can do this by
either 1) defining a parcel label style which has a layer defined in the
label style and then using Layer control for visibility, or 2) Creating a
label style with the visibility set to "False". We could also expose that
style in the Alignment command settings so that you could set the style
before running the command. If we made that setting available, you could
set it up so that you would never see those labels.

Daniel Philbrick
Autodesk Civil 3D Development




wrote in message news:4846654@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there anyway to STOP c3d from automatically creating parcels if my
alignments form a closed area? Once one has already been created, is there
any way of deleting it without deleting an alignment?
Distinguished Contributor
kevincurrey
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎01-25-2005
Message 6 of 6 (78 Views)

Re: Automatic parcels

05-18-2005 01:36 PM in reply to: kevincurrey
Thank you for the info. It will help, but I have to admit it's not really what I was hoping to here. Any chance of the relationship being changed in the future? Even if there was just way of telling the software, "DON'T make parcels automatically." That would be really helpful.
That's my wish list item for the day. If anyone cares to second my proposal, it would be appreciated. :smileyhappy:
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.