AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
kevin.barnett
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-13-2007
Message 1 of 6 (1,130 Views)
Accepted Solution

Autodesk subassembly composer 2013 - lane outside condition?

1130 Views, 5 Replies
01-31-2013 04:38 AM

Does the 2013 subassembly composer include a way to include a condition based on LANE-OUTSIDE-SLOPE?

The figure below indicates the type of condition I would like to include (red arrows)

If this is possible, please provide a little instruction.

Thanks a stack,

Kevin.

 

 

lanesupercond.png

Yes, there is a Super Elevation Class of API functions available. 

 

From the Help:

In order to use these functions SE. needs to proceed it. Here is an example:

IF((Side=Left)AND(SE.HasLeftLO),SE.LeftLO,CType(LaneGrade,Double))

This expression checks the the side and to see if the left lane outside superelevation has a value. If it does it returns the left lane outside superelevation if not the expression returns the LaneGrade value (Grade) converted to double.

 

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,104
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 2 of 6 (1,119 Views)

Re: Autodesk subassembly composer 2013 - lane outside condition?

01-31-2013 06:20 AM in reply to: kevin.barnett

Yes, there is a Super Elevation Class of API functions available. 

 

From the Help:

In order to use these functions SE. needs to proceed it. Here is an example:

IF((Side=Left)AND(SE.HasLeftLO),SE.LeftLO,CType(LaneGrade,Double))

This expression checks the the side and to see if the left lane outside superelevation has a value. If it does it returns the left lane outside superelevation if not the expression returns the LaneGrade value (Grade) converted to double.

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Valued Mentor
kevin.barnett
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-13-2007
Message 3 of 6 (1,086 Views)

Re: Autodesk subassembly composer 2013 - lane outside condition?

01-31-2013 08:26 PM in reply to: fcernst

Thx Ernst... before I start though.. is a custom subassembly needed to do this action - did I miss a standard subassembly that already provides this? 

I am just concerned about distributing custom subassemblies and accessing the design much later in life.

Thx again,

Kevin.

 

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,104
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 4 of 6 (1,072 Views)

Re: Autodesk subassembly composer 2013 - lane outside condition?

02-01-2013 04:43 AM in reply to: kevin.barnett

is a custom subassembly needed to do this action

 

You could divide your Corridor into Regions per your criterion and swap out the SA's.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Valued Mentor
kevin.barnett
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-13-2007
Message 5 of 6 (1,068 Views)

Re: Autodesk subassembly composer 2013 - lane outside condition?

02-01-2013 04:51 AM in reply to: fcernst

thats the method we use right now

Have agreat day.. and  thx for the help, gives me a much better understanding... thx

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,104
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 6 of 6 (1,065 Views)

Re: Autodesk subassembly composer 2013 - lane outside condition?

02-01-2013 04:55 AM in reply to: kevin.barnett

If you lane width is constant, you could test for Cut depth relative to your pivot point.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.