AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Mpendlebury
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Message 1 of 17 (297 Views)

Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

297 Views, 16 Replies
10-21-2013 09:08 PM

I have a 400mb File that just has contours made up from poly lines with lots and lots of points. 


If i open it up with civil3D or Map3d 2014 it just locks up and nothing happnes. I can see all the contours have displayed but it locks up, still saying opening drawing.


If i open it up in autocad it opens in about 20-30 seconds and behaves normally!

 

I tired diffrent profiles thinking it might be some setting i tinkered with but it makes no differnce. I did manage to open them in civil3D using the planning and anaylis tab by attaching the drawing and running a query insert them into a drawing that just dosent seem right to me though.

 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 17 (289 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-21-2013 10:07 PM in reply to: Mpendlebury

Civil 3D and Map utilize more resources than plain Autocad so if you are running in a 32 bit OS you may be running out of resources. At least 8GB of RAM in a 64bit OS is recommended.

 

If there are Civil 3D objects in the drawing, then those objects could also cause your machine to use more resources when you open it in C3D vs. plain Autocad. The reason being those objects are static when opened in plain Autocad but they become dynamic when opened in C3D. There will always be differences in performance between C3D and plain Autocad, especially when the files are large or when you have limited hardware resources.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 17 (282 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-21-2013 10:15 PM in reply to: Neilw

I just now noticed you were running Map 2014 so I assume you are running C3D 2014 as well. That eliminates the 32 bit OS question.

 

It is a good practice to post your system specs as it helps with troubleshooting. Note how many users add their specs to their credentials when posting (see mine below).

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Contributor
Mpendlebury
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Message 4 of 17 (283 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-21-2013 10:18 PM in reply to: Neilw

Dont think its a resource issue i  have pretty beffy system, this is all on the local drive to.

 

Intel Xeon 3.07Ghz

24GB Ram Samsung

SSD 238 GB

Quadro 4000

Windows 7 Enterprise x64

Autodesk AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 – Service Pack 1

 

the drawing only contains linework and no civil objects,  i found it surpising how well autocad opened it, i thought it would take alot longer, but that civil dosent open but looks up seems a bit wrong.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 17 (278 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-21-2013 10:25 PM in reply to: Neilw

So getting back to the problem, since you are able to open the file in Autocad but not Map or C3D, there may be a problem with one of the custom ARX objects in the drawing. That problem would only show up when loading the file into an environment that supports those objects.

 

A few things to try"

 

1) Open the file with the recover command.

2) Open the file in ACAD, SaveAs to a new file and then try opening it in C3D. Just writing to a new file sometimes clears up problems.

3) Make a copy of the file, open in ACAD and start removing C3D objects in batches and saving, then open in C3D. If it doesn't open, then repeat, removing more objects until you get it to open. Make note of what obejcts were removed (perhaps by selecting them from specific areas of the dwg) so you can narrow down the object(s) that are causing the problem.

 

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 17 (277 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-21-2013 10:27 PM in reply to: Mpendlebury

So no civil objects.

 

Try purging your Temp files.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 17 (276 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-21-2013 10:33 PM in reply to: Mpendlebury

Are you sure there are no C3D objects? If you run QSELECT with the filter set to Entire Drawing and Multiple, what objects come up in the list of objects found?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Distinguished Contributor
drazen-ars
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 8 of 17 (263 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-22-2013 02:01 AM in reply to: Neilw

I have the similar experience with AutoCAD and C3D. No C3D objects at all. In some cases AutoCAD is significantly faster than C3D. Even I do not have pure AutoCAD installed, but just AutoCAD profile made from C3D installation.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,865
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 9 of 17 (250 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-22-2013 05:49 AM in reply to: Mpendlebury

Mpendlebury wrote:

 

the drawing only contains linework and no civil objects,  i found it surpising how well autocad opened it, i thought it would take alot longer, but that civil dosent open but looks up seems a bit wrong.

 


I don't think it's a question of opening the drawing. Rather it's the fact that when you open the drawing in Civil 3D you also have to load all the overhead of the program. If you open your Text Window and notice everything that is loaded with Civil and/or map. That may explain the difference.
.

I've attached a text file with what loads in Civil 3D that I don't believe loads in vanilla AutoCAD,

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,261
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 10 of 17 (230 Views)

Re: Autocad is better than civil/Map at opening files

10-22-2013 07:07 AM in reply to: Neilw

If the drawing is opened in Civil3D, then it has Civil3D objects.  It may not have Civil3D entities - objects can exist as data-only.  Thats how other programs such as vanilla AutoCAD know to load the Civil3D object enabler even if there are no Civil3D entities in the drawing.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.