AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
10050744
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Message 1 of 9 (1,283 Views)

Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

1283 Views, 8 Replies
11-18-2013 07:30 AM

Hi Guys,

 

I know some people may have already posted some stuff already about slope analysis but I could do with a direct answer to my question.

 

I am new to Civil 3d and have been learning it over the past month by myself, I have a reasonable good handle of the software as I have been using regular cad for the past couple of years.

 

I have been given a project for college and part of the project is as follows:

 

 

 Provide a Slope Analysis Plan which indicates the main surface water flows within the site and identifies slope gradients in coloured bands of:

>1 in 3

1 in 3 – 1 in 5

1 in 5 – 1 in 10

< 1 in 10

 

 

I understand the slopes, ranges and percentages, do I need to change the style of the slope analysis to achieve the above process???

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Best Regards,

David.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 9 (1,275 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-18-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: 10050744

You need to change the style of the surface to a style that will display the results of the slope analysis.

 

You also need to run the analysis. Choose the number of ranges you want (in this example 4) and then, after running the analysis, change the properties of each range.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,864
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 9 (1,267 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-18-2013 07:55 AM in reply to: 10050744

You need to perform a Elevation Surface Analysis from the Surface's Properties dialog and make sure the surface style used displays the elevations.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,864
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 9 (1,258 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-18-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Sorry Brian I didn't mean to repeat this but I did catch my mistake. Elevation analysis should be slope and the style should display slopes. Same stuff different calc. :smileywink:

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Member
10050744
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Message 5 of 9 (1,209 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-19-2013 06:04 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Brian,

 

I have run the analysis, I understand the ranges etc. How do I go about converting the ranges above into percentages.

 

From the example above a 1: 3 is 33.33% but then they want 1:3 to 1:5 which is 33.33% to 20%??

 

Do you understand where I am coming from or do I just add the 20% to the 33% to give me a 1:5 slopes??

 

Am I just over complicating it or would I be better to just run seperate analysis of the surface for each???

 

Thanks for your assistance, much appreciated.

 

David.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 9 (1,173 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

11-19-2013 10:50 AM in reply to: 10050744

Just type in 1:3 or 1:5 for the slope.

 

 

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Member
10050744
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Message 7 of 9 (1,075 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

12-04-2013 03:55 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Brian,

 

Thanks very much for your assistance, especially the video which helped immensly.

 

I have one other question Brian.... Can you overlay/ underlay your original contours ontop/beneath the slope analaysis??

 

Thanks again.

 

Best,

David.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,786
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 8 of 9 (1,066 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

12-04-2013 04:44 AM in reply to: 10050744
Think you'd need to create a new surface, paste the original one in and style as required
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 9 of 9 (999 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3D Slope Analysis

12-11-2013 09:09 AM in reply to: 10050744

Just turn on the display of the contours as well as the slopes in the style.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.