AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
fayoud
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 1 of 90 (12,470 Views)
Accepted Solution

Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

12470 Views, 89 Replies
09-19-2012 12:58 AM

Hello,

I would like to post the probleme autocad civil 3d and windows, i try to install it but during the installation wizard "framework 4" the process stopped and the installation wizard crash

can anyone post a solution for this problem 

Thanks

Oudjhih Fayçal

Civil 3D 2013, or any other previous version, was not designed for, and is not supported on, Win8 !!!!

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,700
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 90 (12,459 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-19-2012 02:03 AM in reply to: fayoud

fayoud wrote:

Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8


Windows.. what?? How did you get that?

Don't be surprised if something's going wrong on a beta OS, sir...

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,854
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 90 (12,452 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-19-2012 03:08 AM in reply to: fayoud

Windows 8 is not supported by any Autodesk products mainly because it is, as Antonio pointed out, still essentially a beta OS.

 

Undoubtedly, the Autodesk product family will run under Windows 8 at some point in the future but until then you are on your own....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 594
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 4 of 90 (12,433 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-19-2012 04:50 AM in reply to: fayoud

Windows 8 is no longer Beta, the RTM version is available to certain people (MSDN members for example).

 

Although I had no problem installing C3D 2013 on Win8 I did have the same problem you are having with installing C3D 2012.

 

Here's what I had to do.

 

Copy all the installer files from the DVD onto my local harddrive.

Install .NET 2.0 from MS website

Open the "Setup.ini" file at the root of the DVD content

Delete section from #============= DOTNET Begin =============== to #============= DOTNET End ===============

Save Setup.ini file

Run Setup.exe

 

As a side note, i've run into problems on Win8 installing various programs that try to install various versions of the Microsoft Visual C++ 20XX SP1 Redistributable. When this happens I've been able to fix the problem by downloading and installing the redistributable straight from Microsoft then reinstalling the problem program.

 

 

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,854
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 90 (12,427 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-19-2012 04:59 AM in reply to: michael.robertson

Beta or RTM version - makes no difference, still not an officially supported OS:smileyhappy:

 

Whilst you are to be applauded for your workaround, i'd suggestt that is a bit much to expect an "ordinary Joe" to be able to know what to do.

 

I'd guess the 2013 product family are pretty much Windows 8 ready but as for previous versions........:smileyfrustrated:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 594
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 6 of 90 (12,417 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-19-2012 05:02 AM in reply to: fayoud

Not supported, true, will be used any way, I'm sure.

 

Put it out there for IT or Developer types that have to test before Win8 is released to the general public.

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
Active Member
fayoud
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 7 of 90 (12,332 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-22-2012 10:04 AM in reply to: antoniovinci
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,700
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 8 of 90 (12,321 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-22-2012 04:39 PM in reply to: fayoud

Merci, monsieur Fayoud (vous parlez italien aussi, n'est-ce pas..?)

Valued Contributor
bo.martin
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎06-12-2010
Message 9 of 90 (12,267 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-24-2012 05:56 AM in reply to: fayoud

I've had C3D running on 8 RTM since day 1 of the release.

It isntalled fine. Make sure all user access control is turned off.

 

FYI...

Windows 8 boots faster, resumes from sleep faster, has better dual monitor support

You just have to look as the new interface as you start menu instead of go WTF is this :smileyhappy:

Once your to the desktop it's practicly the same (sans the Start Menu)

If you need a start menu install Start8 from stardock.

 

 

 

Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 594
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 10 of 90 (12,260 Views)

Re: Autocad Civil 3d 2013 & Windows 8

09-24-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: bo.martin

I too had no problem getting 2013 on Win8, I did have a problem with 2012 though where the work around I noted fixed it.

I agree with you on the Win8, once you realize you have a start screen instead of menu there really is no huge differences except a faster more secure machine. Everyone talks about the interface but there is a lot of behind the scenes changes that were made that make it faster and more secure.

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.