AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
ArchD
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 1 of 7 (335 Views)

Attempt to evaluate a plane with zero normal.

335 Views, 6 Replies
12-02-2011 10:40 AM

I had this error show up two days ago. My machine maxes my memory out at 12gb when I try to open this file. I've tried to do a recovery, open the .bak and .sv$ files, and insert it into a new drawing but none of this worked. I was able to open it in True View and convert it to another DWG file. Doing this, I saved all my line work, but lost my models. I recreated my drawing from the line work and everything was fine up until now.

 

I am getting this error again but I can't recover it. I can't do the True View thing this time either. Everything on this project is gone now.

 

I don't know if AutoCAD Civil 3D just has serious issues, or if it is our network. C3D constantly processes and starts acting strange after an hour or so of working with it. Things like Duplicate sites, or not being able to move feature lines from one site to another.

 

Our network though is running out of space. We only have a 1Tb server, but in Windows Explorer, the bars are red with only 28.5gb free, and I'm sure it hasn't had any maitanance like defragmentation in a very long time.

 

Does anyone know of anything that would help me recover my work? Do you think the problem is our server corrupting files? 

 

Archie Dodge

Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 64-bit
Xeon E5-1620 v2 @ 3.70 GHz
Nvidia Quadro K4000
32.0 GB RAM
Mentor
ArchD
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 2 of 7 (298 Views)

Re: Attempt to evaluate a plane with zero normal.

01-12-2012 06:31 AM in reply to: ArchD

Has anyone had this problem? It came up again for me today, so I can't do anything on a full days work that I did yesterday. Even the .bak file is broken.

Archie Dodge

Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 64-bit
Xeon E5-1620 v2 @ 3.70 GHz
Nvidia Quadro K4000
32.0 GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 7 (289 Views)

Re: Attempt to evaluate a plane with zero normal.

01-12-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: ArchD

I've never seen it. Have you opened a Support Request through Subscription. They'd probably look at the drawing for you.

 

Allen

Member
ccharlick
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 4 of 7 (232 Views)

Re: Attempt to evaluate a plane with zero normal.

01-15-2013 09:21 AM in reply to: ArchD

I am getting this too. Started with a drawing that was working fine yesterday while I was in it. I saved the drawing and quit for the night and now I can't open anything, .dwg, .bak, or .sv$. :smileymad:It is not just a local machine issue as I've tried to open the file on 2 different machines with Windows 7 64 and 12 or 24 GB or RAM. All other files work fine.

 

If anyone finds a sollution please let me know. I did submit a support ticket with autodesk as well.

 

Thanks,

 

Corey

Corey Charlick
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Intel Xeon 2643 @ 3.30 GHz with 32GB Ram
NVIDIA Quadro k4000
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 7 (228 Views)

Re: Attempt to evaluate a plane with zero normal.

01-15-2013 10:03 AM in reply to: ccharlick

If you save the layer index:

 

sa.PNG

 

Then you could try a partial open. Open the layers one by one and copy paste in to a new drawing. If the Index type wasn't set to begin with. This won't work.

Mentor
ArchD
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 6 of 7 (218 Views)

Re: Attempt to evaluate a plane with zero normal.

01-15-2013 12:45 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

My co-worker and I just got this error again on two seperate files, two seperate projects. These errors happen on our design surface files which then get data shortcutted into production drawings. The only layers that are any use are the ones that pertain to the surface which is corrupt.

 

Now that this problem happen at nearly the same time to both of us, I'm wondering if this is a network read/write problem?

 

I've tried to open them in True View and it opens, but all that is shown is a bunch of squares, much like if you opened a Civil 3D drawing in basic AutoCAD. I then installed the C3D Object Enabler and tried again, and it wouldn't open and True View began to crash. It's obviously a C3D specific error, but the origin of the problem I can't figure out. It seems to happen out of no where, and many times it only happens after closing a finished surface or when trying to xref that drawing into another one. Once C3D tries to open the drawing containing the surface RAM ramps up to 100%, which for me is 12gb and then the OS just either freezes and needs a hard restart, or is very sluggish until I'm able to force close C3D.

Archie Dodge

Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 64-bit
Xeon E5-1620 v2 @ 3.70 GHz
Nvidia Quadro K4000
32.0 GB RAM
Member
ccharlick
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 7 of 7 (189 Views)

Re: Attempt to evaluate a plane with zero normal.

01-21-2013 06:58 AM in reply to: ArchD

Just an FYI for those following the post. I was able to open the drawing with basic CAD but, this didn't gain me much as I was doing design surface work in Civil 3D so was unable to get any of my data out of the drawing. Autodesk support was unable to anything more either.

 

I was able to recreate what I had done in 8 hours the day before in about 4 the second time as I had eliminated a few possibilities and knew what I was working towards. This was much quicker than waiting on Autodesk support as it was 2 days before they got back to me.

 

Sure hope this isn't a common occurrence. 

 

 

Corey Charlick
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Intel Xeon 2643 @ 3.30 GHz with 32GB Ram
NVIDIA Quadro k4000
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!