AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,247
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 1 of 6 (172 Views)
Accepted Solution

Assign pay item to closed areas

172 Views, 5 Replies
10-31-2012 11:24 AM

Is there a way to assign pay items to a selection set of closed areas? The tool seems to only allow the user to pick one object at a time.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 6 (155 Views)

Re: Assign pay item to closed areas

10-31-2012 04:02 PM in reply to: Neilw

Yes, there is.  You need to select the items first then hit this button.

 

1.png

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,247
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 6 (152 Views)

Re: Assign pay item to closed areas

10-31-2012 04:25 PM in reply to: mathewk

I must be doing something wrong in my workflow. Can you show it on JING using the Quantities 4 turorial drawing/?

 

Hold on, I think I see how it works. I thought you had to use the Closed Area tool for closed poly's but I see now you can use the Apply to Objects tool as well. It just doesn't highlight the selection with hatches like to Closed Area tool does.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 6 (144 Views)

Re: Assign pay item to closed areas

10-31-2012 04:41 PM in reply to: Neilw

I don't have Jing and this isn't the tutorials drawing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_Ewf0ecf4s&feature=youtu.be

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,247
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 6 (141 Views)

Re: Assign pay item to closed areas

10-31-2012 04:51 PM in reply to: mathewk

It makes me wonder why they have a button for closed areas since the Add to Objects tool does the job, and more efficiently.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 6 of 6 (138 Views)

Re: Assign pay item to closed areas

10-31-2012 05:04 PM in reply to: Neilw
I guess the other one creates a hatch at the same time if someone wants. Matt Kolberg, Applications Specialist c: 604.803-5963 Improving field to finish productivity cansel.ca [Description: Description: Description: http://www.googleplus-vs-facebook.com/facebook.png] <> [Description: Description: Description: http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQkxJl0nu584FrSblIknohzw0tAMtmGSSs9hAnxRS6kFOpzPYmvXQ] <>
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.